I Couldn’t Resist!

My natural yarn stash is already plenty large, but when I see yummy yarns at yummy thrift store prices, it’s so difficult to walk away! As if Sal’s regular prices of 99¢ per ball and $1.99 for a gallon Ziploc-ful weren’t tempting enough, these were on sale – half-off!

Can you believe that no one grabbed these beauties before they reached the mark down stage in their shelf-life?!

With Ravelry’s help I learned more about my ‘new’ yarns and matched most of them to patterns.

First the seven balls of Filatura Di Crosa Porto Cervo, color 505 (about $6.95). This is an aran self-striping cotton in a beautiful combination of blues! Here’s how it looks as a sweater.

With 88 yards in each x 7 balls, I have 616 yards, plenty to knit a short-sleeved cardigan like the Gilet court d’ete. This particular pattern’s written for a somewhat cropped sweater, but since it’s worked from the top down I can just knit til I run out of yarn!

Next are a recycled cotton and a wool/cotton sock yarn.

On the left – Knit One, Crochet Too’s 2nd Time Cotton, a worsted 75% cotton/25% acrylic,  (original tag $7.95). Its 180 yards could be enough for a triangular shawlette, maybe Chastain Park?

And on the right – Regia Cotton Color Funny Steps #5426, a 41% wool/34 cotton/25 nylon fingering, 200 yards. (originally about $6.00) Unfortunately, this is only enough to knit one sock, so I’ll have to think about what else I would like to make with a wool/cotton blend. Here you can see how it looks once knitted (the center sample).

Here comes some teal with two tans.

On the left – Patons luxurious Silk Bamboo 70% Bamboo/30 Silk in Sapphire, dk, 102 yards (originally about $5.50). This yarn is So Soft and Smooth! I think it would be perfect for the Take it or Leave it cowl. I might be able to handle the challenge of trying a lace pattern for the first time on such a small project!

And to the right – one ball each of Debbie Bliss Amalfi 70% cotton/15 rayon/10 linen/5 silk and Prima 80% bamboo/20 merino (original tags $7.50 each). Both are dk and have about 110 yards, so I can choose two little projects like fingerless mitts, a cute ripple cowl, such as the Mermaid Tail or a hat, like the Lace-edged Women’s Hat! Then again, one ball could become a matching eye mask and headband, which would both come in handy the next time we go camping!

Note to Self: remember Short and Sweet, a lace jacket I found among the projects made with Amalfi. I may have enough of some other cotton yarn to crochet one of these!

And, lastly, my one dollar bag of misc. yarns.

Three have labels:

  • Louisa Harding Fleuris in Bolsa (cream), 70% bamboo/30% wool, 50 gm, 66 yards, bulky ($6.95 here). I was surprised that I could actually find projects to make from such a small amount of bulky yarn! A neck cozy, a neck warmer or a cowl, even a moebius cowl, an ear warmer, size small adult fingerless mitts, children’s mittens and Fluffy Little Sheep are all possibilities.
  • Louisa Harding Thistle in Oatmeal (tan), 60% merino/ 40% baby suri alpaca, 50 gm, 98 yards, aran ($8.95 at yarnmarket.com).
  • a tightly rewound ball of Classic Elite Flash in Gulf Green, a mercerized marled cotton, 50 gm, 93 yards, worsted (original tag $4.00). Here’s a tiny project that someone made from the print version of this yarn, Tea Toters! lol. I would be more likely to use a crocheted Water Bottle Holder or a Make-up Bag. I don’t know if I’d use a Little Bag or if I’d wear bright green M.J.s (MaryJanes), but either of those patterns takes just one skein too!

The unidentified:

  • deep rose smooth wool blend, 50 gm, sport/dk
  • denim blue smooth wool blend, 50 gm, sport/dk
  • silver linen blend
  • grey silk blend in a tightly wound 20 gm ball, fingering.

I continue to be amazed by the wide variety of yarns I find at amazingly low prices!! This time I paid $7.00 for about $120 worth!!

WHoooo-WHeeee! LOL!!

This entry was posted in Knitting, Thrifty Treasures, Yarn Stash and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Couldn’t Resist!

  1. Verneta says:

    Congratulations! Way too good of a deal to pass up! A blessing from heaven!

  2. *I continue to be amazed by the wide variety of yarns I find at amazingly low prices!! This time I paid $7.00 for about $120 worth!!*

    I’m amazed and impressed! Way to go! I can’t wait to see your fo from that lovely porto stuff. And I love the Bamboo yarns. woohoo! Great haul!

Leave a Reply

