Planning a Mini-Scrap Granny

I’ve crocheted so many one and two-round granny squares from mini yarn scraps, I’m excited to get started planning a Mini-Scrap Granny!

I don’t know exactly how much yarn I’ll need for its background. Since I have five skeins of Red Heart Soft ‘Light Yellow Green’, I’m going with that. I seldom have this much of the same color! I got it in two batches at Sal’s. The two skeins I got in April, along with some black and green, were only 50¢ a skein (half-price)!!

The other three were part of a large lot of yarn and yarn toys that I bought back in May of last year.

Happily the actual colors of the two groups aren’t as different as they seem in the two photos. lol. The skeins all look exactly the same to me.

Let’s figure out how many three-round granny squares I’m going to need for my blanket. Each square is about 3 1/2″ across.

If I do ten squares by fifteen squares, the main body of my granny (before border) will be 35″ x 52 1/2″, about the same size as my usual ripple afghans. So… I need at least 150 (10 x 15) squares in colors that look good Great! with my Light Yellow Green yarn. Yikes! That’s alot of coordinating squares!

I want to lay them out in a checkerboard pattern, which means I need at least 75 two-round squares…

and 75 one-round squares to go in-between.

As I pick out the squares that coordinate best with the ‘light yellow green’ yarn, I’m tossing the rejects into cool and warm piles – the beginnings of two future scrap grannies?! Yee-ha!

This entry was posted in Design Process, Granny Afghans, Yarn Stash and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Planning a Mini-Scrap Granny

  1. Verneta says:

    Great idea! Now I know what to do to use my “little bits of yarn up.”

  2. Allyson Gilcrease says:

    Why are the bad ones bad? I’m guessing the colors don’t go well with the good ones? I can’t wait to see this afghan come to life!

    • ‘Why are the bad ones bad?’ I’m so glad that you asked. I can see now that my wording was pretty vague, but you still got the idea… ‘the colors don’t go well’ 🙂

      I went and changed it to say – ” As I pick out the squares that coordinate best with the ‘light yellow green’ yarn, I’m tossing the rejects into cool and warm piles – the beginnings of two future scrap grannies! ”

      Much clearer now. Thanks for your help. Emily, the cat, loves to watch my fingers move on the keyboard, but she’s not much of an editor! lol.

      I can’t wait either!!! Let’s hope there are at least 75 ‘good’ finished ones in each size, or I’ll have to stop to crochet more. :S

Leave a Reply

