2012 Ripple #43 – Wisteria

You might recognize these colors. The purple, grey and variegated yarns are from the poncho and granny afghan I got a few weeks ago at Savers.

I have some left for future ripples,

plus many mini-scrap balls, which will add to my growing collection of one and two-round granny squares. Leftover bits of yarn aren’t such a bother now that I have a use for them. Yay!

This isn’t a favorite color combination of mine, but I think it’s a pretty blanket all the same!

11,862 stitches – 1,236,117 donated since Jan. 2011

Here’s how that photo looked before I cropped it. It’s amazingly square considering how I shot it!

I stand on a sturdy old desk chair and hold my camera high overhead so the entire ripple will fit within the camera’s frame. Obviously I can’t see the camera’s LCD screen up there, so I just try to keep the camera parallel to the floor and at least somewhat square to the blanket. Sometimes I manage to get an unbelievably great shot, like this one, within just a few tries, while on other days, especially when it’s an extra-long ripple, I need a lot more patience.

I so easily lop off ripple corners or points and slice off their edges. . . it’s really too bad there’s no good use for such a natural talent! lol.

 

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2012 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 2012 Ripple #43 – Wisteria

  1. Allyson Gilcrease says:

    You have outdone yourself again!! Beautiful! It’s going to be a blessing for a hurting child.

  2. Edith says:

    Ah…a gorgeous ripple! Our Wisterias here have just finished flowering, they are so pretty, love them 🙂

    • Hi Edith! Thank you. I thought the purple yarn was a close match to the purple of wisteria blossoms. I’ve always loved them, such beautiful old-fashioned romantic-looking flowers. DH built a grape arbor so I had to get one to grow up it. Turns out the wisteria vine would like nothing better than to completely cover the grape arbor, but it doesn’t mind when we whack it back every few years. Actually, it seems like it probably blooms better right after we do! HAha.

  3. I was just wondering the other day how you get such great shots of your ripples! LOL! It’s a lovely blanket that some young girl is going to love!

  4. mrsrooster says:

    This is gorgeous. I love the color combo.

    I am still trying to finish the blue and white for a lady at the bank. I hoped to get it to her tomorrow, but I think it is going to be next Friday.

    Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful night.

    • Thank you very much!

      You can’t go wrong picking blue and white for a baby boy ripple. (Oct. 3rd progress photo, here.) I’m sure both Mom and Baby are going to love it! I say give yourself a break, Amy. Enjoy crocheting the blanket at your leisure; next Friday is way before a December birth. 🙂

Leave a Reply

