A Yarn First

Because ‘my’ ACMoore only lets me use one coupon per day, I buy just one package of yarn from there at a time. Only once do I remember getting two one-pound bags of mill-end yarn in the same visit, thanks to DH’s willingness to wield a second coupon for me.

But now, for the first time, I’ve come out of ACMoore with a real Yarn Haul, a full dozen skeins (over five pounds) of RHSS!

All Yarns were on sale for 30% off, plus the Sunday paper held a coupon for $10 off any purchase of $30 or more, including sale items!! Soooo, these ended up costing me $1.38 each, which is better than half-off the normal $2.99. Yee-Ha! Giggle, giggle.

I also got two balls of ‘Rainbow Stripes’ by Patons Kroy as a treat for me, me, me!

Ooooh, such fun rainbow-striped socks this fine wool sock yarn will become. And only $5.06 for the pair!

Next, since I was going right past Michaels (another one coupon per day store) on my way to run another errand, I quickly ran in with their 50% off coupon, also from Sunday’s paper, and got one skein of RHSS ‘Country Blue’.

Now, if you’ve read more than a few of my blog entries, you already know that I also took a few minutes to check Michaels’ clearance area, where I found 80-page journals for just 25 cents! The social workers who help our area’s foster teens always have journals on their wish-list.

Since I like to mix donated, thrift store and Brand New yarns when I design a ripple, this thirteen skein addition to my charity stash will probably last me well into the winter months. Just think of aaaaaall the ripples it will become!

I’m particularly looking forward to playing with these two colors of RHSS, the new Coral and the rich Dark Orchid, which I’m not sure is actually new. Maybe it’s just been a looong time since I’ve seen it in a store.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Yarn First

  1. Allyson Gilcrease says:

    You rock!!! What a haul! We don’t have AC Moore’s down here. I visited my first one this summer when we visited DS in NYC. But I didn’t have a coupon, so didn’t get anything.

    I don’t know if you have Hobby Lobbys in your neck of the woods, but I just got some great clearanced price I Love This Yarn. Worth a look if you can.

    Can’t wait to see the purple and coral. That’s gonna be a gorgeous one!

    • I admire your restraint, being able to leave AC Moore with no yarn. Depending on the inventory, I probably would have been sorely tempted by their one-pound bags of mill ends. Sometimes they hold wonderful treasures for the price. I think they’re still only $6.99!

      Happy to hear about your clearance yarn find! 🙂
      It’s so sad, we have no Hobby Lobby, but I guess it’s a fair trade-off – I get AC Moore and you get Hobby Lobby!

      I hadn’t considered putting the dark purple and coral together in a ripple, just snapped a quick pic, but I think you’re right – that’s one pretty combination!

  2. mrsrooster says:

    I come to your blog to drool. You are so creative.

    My Rooster came to me last night with a request for a baby blanket for a friend at work. An excuse to buy more yarn? Oh yes. So I will be squeezing the yarns tomorrow. They are expecting a boy. No color request. Oh yes!!!

    Have a wonderful weekend.

    • Thank you. I’m glad you enjoy my show and tell posts.
      “I come…to drool” Careful – don’t short circuit your computer! lol. 🙂

      No color restraints, what fun! Does this mean you’ll look for Bright and CrAzY color combos tomorrow?? HAha.
      Another dear reader just mentioned that her Hobby Lobby was having a yarn clearance sale!
      I don’t have one near me, but maybe you do.

      Happy Yarn Shopping!!

Leave a Reply

