2012 #46 – Auntie’s Sofa Afghan, a Wriggly Ripple

It’s been a couple of months since I last made a Wriggly, long enough for me to enjoy rediscovering how simple and fast this ripple pattern is! Once I had counted my way through the beginning chain and first double-crochet row, this was a fast, fast, fast project! Not to ‘toot my own horn’ or anything, lol, but it’s a great pattern for a quick charity blanket, baby shower gift, wedding gift, housewarming gift. . . well, you get the idea!!

I recently added more information to the Wriggly Ripple pattern, so you can easily create, not just a 35″ wide kid-sized one, like I usually make, but whatever width of Wriggly you want.

12,003 stitches – 1,271,908 donated since Jan. 2011

Those of you who are fans of Red Heart Super Saver will probably recognize these RHSS colors: ‘Tea Leaf’, ‘Coffee’, and ‘Aran’. Okay, the cream yarn could be any brand, lol, but this really is RHSS ‘Aran’. The very pretty shade of blue, Vanna’s Choice, ‘Dusty Blue’, is fluffier than RHSS. If I was making a blanket with Vanna’s Choice colors alone I would be probably go up one hook size to an I. The antique gold yarn didn’t have a label.

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2012, Wriggly Ripples and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 2012 #46 – Auntie’s Sofa Afghan, a Wriggly Ripple

  1. mrsrooster says:

    Love those colors!! What a great combo.

    Have a lovely day!

  2. Allyson Gilcrease says:

    Wow, that black makes the other colors POP!! Another winner, for sure!

  3. I love the colors, and your wriggle pattern looks like a lot of fun!

  4. Mara says:

    Nice one! The coffee really shows off the pattern.

  5. Bettina says:

    Really love this colour combo – it reminds me of (long ago!!) school holidays for some reason, probably because of the very retro, which is to say, very “now” colour scheme – you trendsetter, you! LOL

    • I agree, everything retro becomes new again. . . eventually. lol. Thought this looked like it belonged on the sofa of one of my aunts back in the 60’s, most likely Aunt Helen, possibly Clara.

      Yeah, that’s me alright, trendsetter! HA-HA, you haven’t seen my wardrobe have you?! I tend to wear what I like, trendy or not. 🙂

Leave a Reply

