Ripple Round-up

This year, for the first time, I stored all the ripples I made during the warm months. I’ve filled Rubbermaid bins in our attic with ripple after ripple since late May. As the weather has started to cool I’ve been anxiously waiting for the charity’s e-mail announcing that it’s Blanket Season once again. They’re prepared to receive and pass on donations of handmade blankets for foster children.

It was exciting to see all my ripples together after their months in hiding, fun to get a little giddy over the wide variety of color-combinations and stripe patterns! There are bright ones, glowing ones, delicately soft and sappy ones, ones with tiny narrow stripes, ones with big and bold stripes. . . I looove making ripples for the kids!!

I welcomed this opportunity to pet my favorites one last time before telling them good-bye. I’m not going to call them out, no need to make the other ripples jealous. lol.

Having done charity crocheting, mostly ripples, for over five years now, it still boggles my mind that most of the yarn I’ve used was no longer wanted, cast off. It could just as easily have ended up in a landfill somewhere. Instead, I’ve found this way to put the many scrap balls, partial skeins and long forgotten yarns to use, along with some yarn I’ve unraveled from second-hand afghans, ponchos, sweaters and partly finished projects.

I’ve always gloried in turning nearly nothing into ‘somethin’. I often feel happy about being able to salvage some particularly odd yarn. Week after week I think about the ripple I’m crocheting and the few yarns I’m making it from. But when I look at all these ripples at one, I can’t help but feel a little astonished! This, these tall teetering piles of finished ripples, well, This is, indeed, ‘SOMETHIN’!

Makes me want to do a little HaPpY DaNce! lol

That will give the folks driving by something new to talk about. giggle. They’re probably used to seeing me stand on the old wooden chair in our driveway by now. (how I sometimes photograph a ripple)

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2012 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Ripple Round-up

  1. Mara says:

    Omg! They’re so pretty together.

  2. Allyson Gilcrease says:

    Every time I look at the pictures, I see one that is my favorite. Then I look again, and I see another that is my favorite! They are all awesome! How often do you donate them? Once a year? How long does it take you to make an afghan?

    • During ‘blanket season’, mid-October thru May, I usually deliver a bagful every four to six weeks. These were saved up during the off-season, June thru mid-October.

      I average one ripple per week. The fastest ones take me about ten hours.

  3. Verneta says:

    So beautiful … and every stitch made with love! What one person throws away another person takes and makes something BeauTiFuL out of! ๐Ÿ˜€ This is exactly how I feel when I take my blankets to the children at Target House. We’ll do our HaPpY dAnCe together!

  4. mrsrooster says:

    I see such colorful love. You are a wonderful person. The world is a much better place because of your kindness. God Bless you!!

    I am very inspired to start looking for wayward yarn now!! Thanks for that hint.

    Amy

    • Oh Amy, you make me blush! – fanning face. Thank you.

      ‘wayward yarn’ – I like that alot!! lol

      Hope you find yarn treasure on your first try.
      Don’t forget to check your closets for sweaters that made the long trip with you to Texas, but don’t get worn.
      I looove getting chenille yarn from sweaters!

  5. jacekica says:

    I can not believe how many blankets you made in couple of months – and when you say sometimes it takes you 10 hours – you are speeeedyyyyyyyyyy…. and very very nice person. If there is no blogland I will be totally unaware of such warmth and goodness. I think that what you do is wonderful, every child have something especially made for him/her and I am sure this blankets will be save till they live with so many memories. As you make them with love I am sure these children also accept them with love and prayer are everynight said for special person who made them.

    • Anyone who crochets the same pattern over and over will eventually get speeeedyyyyyyy! lol

      Thank You very much for all your kind words!

      It’s a lovely thought that some of my blankets will be treasured for years, but I’m O.K. with some becoming muddy play tents or even getting torn up by a family dog, cuz we know those kinds of things are bound to happen too. :S
      So I usually stick to imagining foster kids’ smiling faces as they get to choose their blanket out of the pile.
      After that. . . c’est la vie, whatever happens happens. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. daniellajoe says:

    I luv every single one too and the idea of recycling is very dear to me…. Keep it up, you are an inspiration!!

  7. This is awesome! The colors are awesome! What you do is awesome!

  8. Wow, what a stunning collection. And to think that yarn could be in a landfill, wasted, instead of turned into beautiful creations!

  9. Edith says:

    Now that just looks YUM! ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. Oh, my goodness gracious! Linda! That’s just wonderful! Amazing! Beautiful! Like Edith says: YUM!

    It IS such a great talent and use of time that you devote to this lovely, deserving project. “Misfit yarn” like the Land of Misfit Toys. How appropriate that you turn misfit yarn into gorgeous pieces of usable art that comfort children who have been misfitted into their families. I (((hug))) you!

    • Thank you very much Karen! I love the way your words gush with enthusiasm! ๐Ÿ˜€

      ‘Misfit Yarns’ is a very good term – every stash has a few. You look at them and wonder ‘what was I thinking’!?!? lol.
      Or they hang around for so loooong they’ve just gone out of style. Poor misfits. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But I have plans for them all!! HEEhee.

      I notice that you’re no crochet slouch yourself, donating work to a different charity every month! YAY!!
      I (((hug))) back!!!

Leave a Reply

