Starting My First Jacob’s Ladder Ripple

I wanted relatively simple stripes and colors to best show this ripple pattern’s unique design/texture/technique, whatever you want to call it.

These are the yarns I’ve chosen, listed dark to light: RHSS Claret, Red Heart Plush Wine, medium antique rose, light rose from the Bobbles! sweater and cream. Because this is my second project using the unraveled light rose yarn, this afghan’s official name will be ‘Bobble-less #2’, but I’ll happily consider any other name that you suggest!

I must admit this ripple’s start was not impressive-looking while piled in my lap,

but it got more interesting once I spread it out to see Jacob’s ten-stitch chain ‘ladders’, which I’ll ‘climb’ once I’ve crocheted all but the blanket’s last row.

Intrigued? Check out Heather Tucker’s Jacob’s Ladder Ripple pattern, written for five sizes of afghans! It’s so new, March 2012, there are only a few finished examples in Ravelry so far. Wouldn’t you like to add your Jacob’s Ladder Ripple to this gallery?

I’m making my Jacob’s Ladder Ripple as part of the Ripple Mania CAL being led by Marie Segares, crochet designer and author of the Underground Crafter blog. Thankfully I’m further along than in the photo above, cuz I hope I’ll be among the winners in the prize drawing to be held for all CAL ripples shared between November 21st and the 27th. Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Afghan Patterns and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Starting My First Jacob’s Ladder Ripple

  1. Allyson Gilcrease says:

    I can’t wait to see it finished!! It looked like a hot mess in the pic that you posted when it was on your lap. Is this one taking longer to make? Just wondering. Have a great day my friend.

    • Yes!, this one is slow. There’s no way around it; those ten-stitch chains add so many more stitches to every row – but it’s super easy and I’m plugging away!. . . crochet, crochet. . crochet, crochet, crochet, HEhee. πŸ™‚

  2. Jasminka says:

    I can not believe – again something special, i like it so much – looking at the finished one that I printed pattern for myself – must go to buy some yarn. hehehhe.

  3. Renee says:

    I have that Pattern you’re using. hope you have better luck that what I did.
    I just couldn’t get it together. oh well, maybe someday. πŸ™‚

    • Oh! That doesn’t sound good, but so far the only problem I’ve had is maintaining the pattern’s simple stitch count: 3 – 6 – 3 – then chain 10. Linda, Linda, Linda. . . Chain 10, not 6! – Chain 10!! HA-ha.

      I’ll let you know how things go.

  4. vera says:

    Oh this is lovely. I love those colors. I should dye up something like that. Inspiration!

  5. Mara says:

    I’ve been looking at this pattern too. It’s really cute but I couldn’t get over the slits in the beginning edge from the first pulled up loops. I wonder if there’s some way to fix it?

    • Couldn’t resist temporarily pulling up a short column of loops as soon as I got a few rows done. – Just had to see how that works! I don’t like the look of the ‘slits’ it creates either – they’re long enough to catch a Big toe in!

      I’m committed to finishing this for the CAL though, so I may just live with them. I’m considering whether I want to sew each one at its mid-point, so it’ll become two smaller/shorter slits. Too much work? I could do it with thread, so as not to risk messing up the points while hiding yarn ends. Whadda ya think?

      Maybe something better will occur to me before I get to that step.
      Better yet to figure out a different way to do it from the start, so we don’t have to figure out how to ‘fix it’ after!

      • Mara says:

        I did a regular Jacob’s ladder a bajillion years ago and I think that the beginning ch loops were shorter than the rest. I’d have to play around with hook and yarn to test. As far as a fix for this one I think a needle and thread would work nicely and be the most invisible. I think fixing little things like that take only a little time and make a big difference.

      • Immediately after reading your comment I thought, “Don’t tell me I read the ripple’s pattern wrong!!” – so I went to double check and found I did follow the directions correctly. Phew. All its chains are 10 stitches. . . so are the all chains in both of the regular style Jacob’s Ladder patterns I looked at just now.

        But I had an AH-HA! moment!. . . In a regular Jacob’s Ladder the ‘ladder’ starts right at the blanket’s bottom edge – by using parts of the beginning chain.

        But in the rippled Jacob’s Ladder, row one is solid dcs (with incs and decs) worked into the beginning chain, which establishes the peaks and valleys – there are no chain sections to lift until you get all the way up to row two!

        I think doing the foundation row a little differently would close the hole! Like you I’d have to play with hook and yarn to be sure, but I can imagine making the two plain dcs in a valley or at a peak, then slip stitching back to the right past those two dcs, making a ten-stitch chain and then returning to pattern as written until I reach the next peak or valley, and so on.

        I’ll give it a try. . . after Christmas. πŸ™‚

  6. you’ve got to stop starting new ripples – I still want to start the V ripple, & now you are showing me another one I want to make! I can’t keep up with you, & my stash is very quickly dwindling… 😦

    • Oh, dear. I almost hate to tell you, but as soon as I finish the Jacob’s Ladder Ripple I’m going to try another new pattern, the Eyelet Ripple by Marie Segares, who’s hosting the Ripple Mania CAL. The pattern’s in ‘Week Two’ of the five-part pdf series available here in Ravelry. – Free while the CAL is in progress, but part of an Ebook for sale once it’s over.

      Get the pattern now – it looks like an easy-peasy one! – and you can crochet it next year. . . after Santa replenishes your stash! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

