2012 Ripple #50 – A Jacob’s Ladder

I’m simply revealing my first Jacob’s Ladder Ripple today, but on Friday I’ll tell you the rest of its story, which will include a photo how-to, this blanket’s ‘before’ pictures and my solutions.

Trust me – this blanket did not always look so good – oh, the troubles we’ve gone through together! sigh.

But we triumphed and now, not only is it a pretty blanket, but it has flat, even points too! This is more significant than you can know.

With 87 rows, my blanket turned out about 56″ long. At 36″ wide it’s a little narrower than the pattern’s 39″ size Small, a sign that I worked more tightly than expected.

No better name occurred to me while I crocheted, so I’m still just calling it “Bobble-less #2”, the second ripple I’ve made with the pale rose yarn I unraveled from a thrift store sweater I called ‘Bobbles!’.

P.S. These are the yarns I’ve chosen to crochet one more blanket for the Ripple Mania CAL.

I’m enjoying a very simple pattern, Marie Segares’ Ripple Mania Eyelet Ripple, a petite-scaled ripple with only four dcs on each side of every point. If this sounds interesting to you, go download the pattern now while it’s free; in one week it goes on sale as part of an ebook.

Thanks to the long Thanksgiving weekend, I’m confident that I’ll finish my first Eyelet Ripple before the CAL deadline of Nov. 28th. Soon I’ll be sharing with you how many pattern repeats and rows it took for me to make a kid-sized one.

This entry was posted in Afghan Patterns, Jacob's Ladder Ripples, Ripple Afghans of 2012, Ripple Series - Bobble-less and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 2012 Ripple #50 – A Jacob’s Ladder

  1. Sharon says:

    I just love this afghan and the great colors you worked it in. I have made a couple of afghans in this pattern and they turn out so nice. It is hard to wait till the end to see what it will REALLY look like!! Love your blog!
    Sharon

    • Hi Sharon!
      I’m quite surprised by how many compliments I’ve received on this particular color combo; I thought I was being lazy using one that was so common in the 80’s! Well, I’ve heard it said that everything ‘old’ eventually becomes ‘new’ again and I suppose that’s true with these multiple shades of ‘country rose’ too.

      So glad to hear your Jacob’s Ladder Ripples turned out well. I wish I could see them, any photos?
      I love mine too, although it did take a little extra time and effort to fix its ‘problems’. sigh. I’m sure my next Jacob’s Ladder will go much faster!

      Thank You! Happy to know you enjoy my ramblings. 🙂

  2. jacekica says:

    It is a wonderful afghan, it seems so perfect that I can not imagine any problems :)….colors and pattern are amazing.
    You finish afghan before I finish hat … shame on me lol:

    • Thank you very much! That’s my plan – that no one who sees my lovely “Bobble-less #2” will ever think we went through such troubles together. They’ll be a secret shared only with my blog and Ravelry friends.

      It is an interesting pattern, isn’t it?! Give it a go – only chain and double crochet stitch are required. You can learn from my mistake – be sure you don’t crochet too tightly. :S

      Oh, no – no. . . no shame on you – by the time you crochet your one hundredth hat, you’ll be a much faster crocheter too! HAHa.

  3. I love it, too, and am so intrigued to hear what adventures lead you to this finished beauty.

    I love the colors for your ripple mania project, and I’m looking forward to seeing it finished!

  4. BJ says:

    I will be watching and can’t wait to hear more. Very pretty blanket.

  5. PJMax says:

    If I started this ripple tomorrow is there anyone to whom I could get questions I may have?

    • Since it’s been a looong time since I made my last Jacob’s Ladder Ripple, I’d best refer you to ‘Mama’, who wrote the pattern. You can ask her any questions that come up by leaving a comment on the pattern page.

      These video tutorials, new since I made my blanket, may be helpful to you: Part One covering the beginning and body of the blanket, and Part Two about the finishing rows.

Leave a Reply

