Ripple #55 – SPI-der Man!!

At the end of Friday’s Spidey Blanket update I was about to run out of Royal blue yarn and head to Joanns for more.

375 in-progress

Once I crocheted that laaast blue double-crochet round, I could add the spider web’s black chain and slip-stitch spokes. This was a real slow awkward step for me, working with my right hand on top of the blanket and constantly switching between having my left hand on top and under the blanket, but it was so worth it!! The spokes are what turned my red and blue striped round ripple into a Spider’s Web! Yes!!

A helpful reader shared this link to a Flickr video showing how to add the spider web. – Thanks for sharing your great find, Renee!

Starting each spoke on one of the blanket’s twelve points, I stopped as soon as I reached the blanket’s red center spot, leaving that area open for a crocheted SPIDER! Ewww.

I followed agamerswife’s quick and easy spider pattern. My spider’s legs somehow came out awfully large in proportion to its body, so I did a round of single-crochet to enlarge it. (There are more tips for crocheting the spider at the end of this post.)

By the time DH went to bed last Wednesday night I’d pinned the body and legs onto the blanket and was ready to start sewing them on with fingering-weight black yarn. I stayed awake, slowly and carefully sewing on Spidey. I’m so happy that I took my time – I think he’s the crowning glory of an already great-looking blanket!

377 spider

With only an edging round left to crochet and the yarn ends to weave in, I was too excited to go to sleep, so I stayed up and finished. Haven’t we all done that with some project we just couldn’t wait to complete?!

The pattern called for reverse crochet, but I did just plain ole regular single crochet and it worked fine, making the blanket’s edge sturdier and less likely to stretch out of shape. My superhero blanket is 65″ point-to-point and weighs 2 1/2 pounds. That’s a whole lotta yarn!

377 flat

Thursday morning I softened up the Red Heart Super Saver by throwing Spidey in the dryer for twenty minutes. Afterward, the blanket feels so much nicer, more like. . . oh, Vanna’s Choice than my good old friend, RHSS!

377 on bench

This was such a fun Christmas project! I wish I could see Dylan’s face when he first sees his blanket, sigh, but I can be satisfied by imagining his shriek of joy and the way he’ll jump up and down, grinning, with it wrapped around himself!!

Merry Christmas, Dylan!!

Spider Tips. . .

Body:

Think of the chain 10 as the spider’s spine (as if a spider had a spine, lol).
Next you’re going to make the left side of his head.
Turn and work into the chain: sl st into the 2nd chain from your hook, sc into each of the next 2 chains. Keep going, working your way down the chain. . . next is left side of spider neck: 2 sl st, and left side of body: sc, dc x2, tr x2, dc x2. I think you do both dcs in the last chain.

I seem to remember working a couple of more dcs into the last chain so the spider would have a nicely rounded hind end and it would lay flat instead of forming a bowl! I’m sure you’ll figure out how to make it “work”.

Next you’re going to work your way back up the other side of the chain to make the spider’s Right Half, which you do by “working the instructions backwards”. That means you repeat all the stitches that you just did, but in reverse order. The idea is to make this side of the spider’s body match/mirror the first half.

Following the pattern as written that means the 2nd half of the body would begin with dc x2, then tr x2, dc x2, sc. Next comes his neck: sl st x2, and finally the head: sc x2, sl st.

You’ll probably need to make two or three to get a spider that you really like. You’ll be able to make one in your own way once you get the main idea of the pattern. Don’t get discouraged – the legs are easy!

Legs:

I followed the leg pattern as written, but a reader came up with another way to do them. Thanks for sharing, Renee! You can see her beautiful results here. – Click on the top photo for an up-close view of Renee’s spider. Then click on the spider itself if you want to get even closer. Ewww. lol. He’s gorgeous, but still a spider.

” In the original spider pattern, it seemed as tho the legs were supposed to be created separate from the body and then attached somehow – it wasn’t clear to me, so I just took a guess and tried to make the legs directly off the body … after creating the body, I kept going around, primarily just using sl st & sc …
… at some point after the head/neck, I did 16 ch off the body, then sc into the 2nd st from the hook and sc in each st all the way back to the body [1st leg] … then I added either a sc or sl st on the body to put a little space between the legs…
… then I added another leg (16 ch off the body and sc back to the body) … [2nd leg]
… then a couple sl st on the body to put some space between the legs
… then another leg (16 ch off the body and sc back to the body) … [3rd leg]
… then either a sc or sl st on the body for some space …
… then another leg (16 ch off the body and sc back to the body) … [4th leg]
… when I got to the “butt” I think did a couple sl st until I got to the bottom of the “spine” and then I worked a sc & sl st up the “spine” back to the top of the head …
… then I worked another 4 legs down the other side of the body, with a couple sl st to get back to the bottom of the “spine” …

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2012, Round Ripples and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Ripple #55 – SPI-der Man!!

  1. Verneta says:

    Absolutely awesome! Dylan will be soooo excited and surprised! Now this is what Christmas is about!

  2. Sharon says:

    Hello and Merry Christmas!
    This is a stunning example both in word and deed of love!!
    Sharon

    • Hi Sharon!

      Thank You.
      This project was a fun challenge, lots more fun than searching the stores for that ‘perfect Christmas gift’, lol, even though it was certainly alot to get done in just two weeks!
      So it was very nice that I didn’t have to do it all on my own – not only did I have DH and my faithful readers, I had Ravelry, where I found the free Spidey blanket pattern and the help of over 500 members’ project photos and notes, including that fantastic spider pattern!!

      And Merry Christmas to You and Yours!

  3. jacekica says:

    Spidey is wonderful, and spider in the middle of the blanket is the finishing touch of perfection. I am sure Dylan will be over excited when he sees it, and what you have done is not measurable at all, love, time, long hours of working on the blanket. It is true meaning of giving and gifts – it is a gift for little boy who is unknown for you, who can not do anything in return, you are truly Christmas spirited woman.
    Merry Christmas to you and your DH

    • Thank you for your very thoughtful comment.

      This project really “made” Christmas for DH and me this year. I’m so glad I remembered seeing the Superhero blanket pattern and that I had the time and determination to make it!

      “Christmas project – Part Two’ comes to the blog tomorrow!

      P.S. – I’ve tried to send my answers to your comments directly to you by email, but the address you’ve given doesn’t work. I don’t mind if you did it to block ‘junkmail’, I just wanted to let you know in case that wasn’t your intention. 🙂

  4. another Sharon says:

    I love it. Thank you so much for finishing it and sharing it with all of us.
    I definitely will make this for one of my four great-grandsons.

    • You’re welcome, Sharon!
      I’m so glad I could share these great patterns, blanket and spider, with you!! I’ll try to answer if you have any questions about either of them.

      Hmm, I see one very happy great-grandson in your future. 🙂

  5. It’s so cool! I think the spider applique totally makes it!

  6. Renée says:

    Hi – I’m a beginner at crochet and have finally worked my way to doing this blanket for my hubby. I just finished all the rounds last night and am ready to work on the webbing, but I can’t seem to figure out how to do it. Please help! (PS: I love the spider in the middle – I may add that to my blanket too!)

    • Hi Renee and Welcome to Alottastitches!

      Congratulations on completing a Spiderman blanket for your Hubby!

      I’d be glad to help you, but unfortunately about all I remember about crocheting the web lines was that it was kind of awkward. :S I held the blanket with my left hand underneath while I crocheted on the top with my right hand.

      Are you a Ravelry member? If not, you should join, no reallyRavelry is an amazing resource for new and experienced crocheters alike. . . and it’s free!
      You can look through the Ravelry notes of the 600 others who have completed Spiderman blankets. Maybe one of them has written a tutorial!

      You could also try contacting Gail and Wendy, the designers. I copied this from within the pattern on their blog: “If you have any questions about the pattern, don’t hesitate to send a message to me at Stitch_n_Frog@mchsi.com

      Please let me know how you make out. 🙂

  7. Renée says:

    I’m having difficulty with the spider – not sure how to do the sl st and beyond, after the 10ch – any tips?

    • Hi Renee ~
      My advise:
      Try to think of the chain 10 as the spider’s spine (as if a spider had a spine, lol).
      Next you’re going to make the left side of his head.
      Turn and work into the chain: sl st into the 2nd chain from your hook, sc into each of the next 2 chains. Keep going, working your way down the chain. . . next is left side of spider neck: 2 sl st, and left side of body: sc, dc x2, tr x2, dc x2. I think you do both dcs in the last chain.

      I seem to remember working a couple of more dcs into the last chain so the spider would have a nicely rounded hind end and it would lay flat instead of forming a bowl! I’m sure you’ll figure out how to make it “work”.

      Next you’re going to work your way back up the other side of the chain to make the spider’s Right Half, which you do by “working the instructions backwards”. That means you repeat all the stitches that you just did, but in reverse order. The idea is to make this side of the spider’s body match/mirror the first half.

      Following the pattern as written that means the 2nd half of the body would begin with dc x2, then tr x2, dc x2, sc. Next comes his neck: sl st x2, and finally the head: sc x2, sl st.

      You’ll probably need to make two or three to get a spider that you really like. You’ll be able to do it your own way once you get the main idea of the pattern. Don’t get discouraged – the legs are easy!

      Best of luck – I know you’ll end up with a Fantastic spider! 😀

      Good Nite.

  8. Renée says:

    Hi Linda – I tweaked the spider a little, but I was able to get it done thanks to your help! 🙂 http://www.ravelry.com/projects/Ameliyah/superhero-dreamcatcher-afghan

    • I really like your white web – more true to life. And the spider came out Great! You must be pleased. 🙂

      Did you write down what you did?
      I wish I’d thought to make notes of my spider tweaks. They would have saved you time, and me, if I ever make another.

      Has Jeremy seen it yet?

      • Renée says:

        Thanks! 🙂 I didn’t write-down what I did, but I can tell you that realizing the first 10ch was the “spine” of the spider was an IMMENSE help!

        As you suggested, I included some extra dc for the bottom of the body to make it more round – I think I had a total of 6dc for the “butt” of the body.

        In the original spider pattern, it seemed as tho the legs were supposed to be created separate from the body and then attached somehow – it wasn’t clear to me, so I just took a guess and tried to make the legs directly off the body … after creating the body, I kept going around, primarily just using sl st & sc …
        … at some point after the head/neck, I did 16 ch off the body, then sc into the 2nd st from the hook and sc in each st all the way back to the body [1st leg] … then I added either a sc or sl st on the body to put a little space between the legs…
        … then I added another leg (16 ch off the body and sc back to the body) … [2nd leg]
        … then a couple sl st on the body to put some space between the legs
        … then another leg (16 ch off the body and sc back to the body) … [3rd leg]
        … then either a sc or sl st on the body for some space …
        … then another leg (16 ch off the body and sc back to the body) … [4th leg]
        … when I got to the “butt” I think did a couple sl st until I got to the bottom of the “spine” and then I worked a sc & sl st up the “spine” back to the top of the head …
        … then I worked another 4 legs down the other side of the body, with a couple sl st to get back to the bottom of the “spine” …

        whew … I’m going to add that to my Ravelry notes on the finished project 🙂

      • Glad I could help. 🙂
        How clever of you to do the legs as you added another round to the spider’s body! So much simpler than making the legs separately and then having to attach them. Thanks for your notes on behalf of all future Spidey blanket crocheters.

  9. Reblogged this on Mine Kinder Garden and commented:
    OMG I might need to make this

Leave a Reply

