Shopping

Traditionally, the day after Christmas is a huge Shopping Day here in the U.S. I, this year like most, have chosen to instead relax at home.

Still I have shopping finds to share with you. . .

those that I found at the Fiber Festival last month. I went there looking for a wider blade and new feet to fit the old used wool cutter I bought several years ago. I was so excited to find both! Happy, happy, HaPpY, Happy!!

378 41 wool cutter

Since taking the above photograph, ‘Goo-Gone’ and I have managed to remove the two very old feet that look melted onto the side of my cutter – relieved. Ewww.

I appreciate how much faster I’m going to be able to do a large hooked project now that I have a #8 blade! Twice as fast I suppose, as I can hook with 1/4″ wide strips of fabric rather than the 1/8″ strips I could cut with my old blade. Yay!

Once hooked the wider strips will look something like this.

378 43 VanGogh

I think those strips may actually have been hand cut, because they’re irregular in width. I really like the primitive look.

Someday, I may still want to cut dainty strips for small finely detailed projects like these. So I’ll hang on to my old #4 blade.

378 44 hooked pieces on wall

I didn’t pay any attention to just what width of strips these kit samples were hooked with.

378 45A hooking kits

I only had time to be impressed with the wide variety of designs before I got distracted by a display of wonderful rug hooking books! I chose these two to bring home.

378 45 hooking books

Just a few days before the festival I had checked this book out of the library.

378 46 Punchneedle Embroidery by Barbara Kemp

I’ve always been curious about punchneedle embroidery and have become even more so since I got a brand new set of needles at the church rummage sale a few weeks ago.

After looking through that book I came to the realization that needle punching is alot like rug hooking! – if you think of it as rug hooking worked in reverse. Instead of using a hook to pull a loop of wool fabric or yarn up through the backing fabric, you use a punch needle to push (or punch) a loop of embroidery floss down through the backing fabric.

At the festival I was happy to see what ‘weaver’s cloth’, the backing fabric recommended for needle punching, looks and feels like, and how Very Tight, like a drum, it needs to be stretched over a non-slip embroidery hoop for easier punching. I was surprised, and pleased, to find out that I can probably get both the hoop and special fabric at my local JoAnns store! I want to go look for them the next time I have a bunch of 50% off coupons!

This was the first time I’d seen needle punching done with fine wool yarns. Ooooooh my, I like how this looks! – so different from when it’s done with shiny embroidery floss. I’m sure I have at least a few fine gauge wool yarns nestled in my stash that I can experiment with.

378 47 needlepunch examples - close-up

Some of you will be surprised by how little yarn I bought, but if you’ve seen the size of my natural fiber stash, and/or know how much I love bargains, then you’ll understand that it was easy it was for me to walk away without buying any of the many beautiful, but high-priced, yarns that I saw at the fiber fest.

DH and I were leisurely heading toward the exit when I spied these much lower-priced yarns, part of someone’s destash. I think I’m married to an enabler; he just smiled and shrugged when I asked if he thought I should buy them all. Maybe because the woman destashing is preparing to move to Canada and he’s Canadian? shrug. Whatever the reason, they’re mine now! lol.

378 48 yarn haul

This two-pound spool of natural two-ply wool was only $12! I am sure there’s some yarn dying in my future.

The Regia sock yarn at $3.00 a skein was not a Fantastic Find, but I do need some more black socks and its price was well-balanced by getting the four-ounce ball of deep red hand-dyed wool, a 100 yd. skein of red Peruvian Highland Wool and, although in three parts, enough of the fun self-striping sock yarn to make another pair – all for just $3.00 more. HaPpY, HaPpY ME!

Since I hadn’t yet made it to the festival’s ‘zoo’, we spent our last half hour visiting the animals. I hadn’t realized how many different colors of angora bunnies there are!

378 49 angora tan/white378 49 angora caramel378 49 angora black/white

We were told that this twelve-pound rabbit was small for her breed! But neither of us remember what breed that is. Isn’t she somethin’?!

378 50 Big white angora

I didn’t take any pictures of the many, many breeds of sheep represented at the festival. The only ones that stand out in my mind now are an antique breed with oddly-shaped faces and some miniature breeds. I bet a couple of those little ones would keep our yard mowed and provide me with all the wool I could want to prepare, spin and knit!

I don’t think there were any goats.

But there were many llamas! Both large. . .

378 51 llama

and small.

378 51A llama

And, although, somehow,

378 52-alpacasign2

I only have pictures of their signs,

378 53 alpacasign1

I know there were many alpaca too! I remember the curious murmuring and humming sounds they made.

As we walked the last aisle of pens, the announcement was repeated over and over telling us the festival was closing for the day. sigh.

Already I look forward to next year’s Fiber Fest!

378 55 postcard1

Will you be joining us?

378 56 postcard2

This entry was posted in Events and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shopping

  1. another Sharon (sharonb42 says:

    Love that bunny – like having a long haired cat, fluffy dog all in one with long ears.
    We used to have rabbits, just the regular New Zealand kind but we loved them.
    Thanks for sharing

    • “a long haired cat, fluffy dog all in one with long ears.” = Funny!!
      I read about people having house rabbits, but when I think of it shedding all that hair!! 😯
      I suppose I’d have to get into spinning if I had one.

      My brother had bunnies when we were kids. I don’t know the breed – a kind that you eat. :S Sorry.

      You’re welcome. I’m glad that you enjoyed shopping with me and I’m grateful that you left a comment. Thank You. My Fiber Fest posts don’t appear to be popular with my dear readers. 😦

  2. We visited the animals last, too! 🙂

    And yes, we’ll meet up together next year! It will be SO much fun. I’ll take Sat off from work so we have more time!

Leave a Reply

