Special Delivery

I’ve been anxiously waiting for this package to arrive for a couple of weeks now. I never expected it to come by Air, let alone by “Royal” Mail!! lol.

391 "royal mail"

A Ravelry member offered one of my dear readers yarn for charity use, but, since she’s trying to cut down, she introduced the idea of sending it to me instead! Thank you so much for thinking of me, Karen.

Soon after I got a Ravelry message from generous Beverley offering to send me yarn all the way from Great Britain. This idea rather boggled my frugal mind, but I don’t like to turn down an offer of free yarn for my charity projects, so, although I did suggest that she might want to donate it locally. . . I also gave her my mailing address. lol.

The next message came on Christmas eve – “my yarn” was in the mail. Squeal! I also got to see tiny photo of it, so I knew that 250 grams (9 ounces) of merino in a warm color spectrum was on its way to me. What I didn’t know. . .

391 special delivery - yarn

was that it is lace weight!! Compare it, the fine orange yarn in front, with the grey fingering weight sock yarn and rust RHSS aran.

391 laceweight

I’ve never worked with such delicate-looking yarn before.

Each petite skein in this Colourmart five-color set holds 760 yards, for a total of 3800 yards! I look forward to matching this very special yarn with just the right charity project(s). Thank you again, Beverley, for what is sure to be an adventure!

This entry was posted in Yarn Stash and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Special Delivery

  1. Anastacia says:

    wow. that’s all I can say & I am SO SO SO jealous! How sweet of them to send it to you & even better, what gorgeous pretty yarn! (and you can always double it)

    • I was thinking I might double it so I can blend the colors, one into the next across the group. But I’ve no clue as to an appropriate charity project. I’ve been asked to donate something for a silent auction. Maybe there’s an opportunity there.

      I think I’m seriously intimidated by how very fine this yarn is! Won’t any project made with such fine yarn take forever?!?

  2. Bobbi says:

    I know that whatever you make, it will be beautiful! Lucky you! (Can’t wait to see what that is!)

  3. maura says:

    dang. also very jealous

  4. daniellajoe says:

    such beautiful yarn, i know you will make something beautiful!!! please know that you have an added star check it out here 🙂 http://wp.me/pGgxy-O9

Leave a Reply

