I’m Crocheting Lace!?!

Last spring I promised to crochet a shawl for a mission fundraiser to be held this spring. I guess it’s time that I get crochetin’ if I’m going to finish one before the April 8th deadline!

I’ve chosen to make a Morpho Shawlette. There are several finished examples in Ravelry and, somewhat intimidated by the idea of crocheting LACE, I read many a Raveler’s project notes to see whether this is aΒ really easy pattern. lol.

Well, I’m already 13″ into it, measuring from the center of the top to the bottom point, and so far it has been easy! Working top-down, once you get past the spider web-like beginning you just alternate two pattern rows. Obviously, I can’t speak for the ease of the shawl’s pretty border, yet.

411 shawl with cone of thread

I’m using a size G hook with the coral cotton thread that I got last year at Sal’s. It’s labeled 8/2, if that means something to any of you. I’d say it’s about the same weight or maybe a little finer than the #10 crochet cotton thread that you see at all the big box craft stores.

411 close-up of shawl

I’m finding this crochet lace project so enjoyable, I may be tempted to start another as soon as it’s finished. I certainly have no shortage of coral crochet thread! lol.

This entry was posted in Shawl and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I’m Crocheting Lace!?!

  1. This is really gorgeous. I’ve bookmarked the pattern. And since it’s been raining here all day (halleluja) I can actually feel the need for something new and pretty to keep my shoulders warm πŸ™‚

    • Thank You! I’m liking this pattern alot.
      You can see from all the examples in Ravelry, it looks great no matter the weight of yarn used.

      Rain – good for you!
      Here we got more snow overnight and there’s way more of it than was forecast! My guess, looking out the window, is about ten inches. So DH is running that snowblower, again. sigh
      But he’s wearing green cashmere long johns this time! πŸ˜€

  2. Wawanna says:

    Stunning! Why not a second one! Lovely color, mouthwatering actually!

    • Thank You!!
      So glad I grabbed those cones of thread even though I had no idea what I’d ever make with them. πŸ™‚
      But I think I might dip into my stash of crochet cotton for the next lace piece, the stuff that comes in those 350 yard balls. Maybe purple variegated? I know I have two balls of that!
      Ideas, ideas. . . My mind is swimming about in a deep warm pool of the most wonderful ideas and possibilities while I crochet. Love It!

  3. Underground Crafter says:

    It’s beautiful! I’m glad you are trying out lace – you’re obviously a natural.

    • Thank You! You’re so kind – “a natural” – this makes me laugh!
      I think I must have found the simplest lace pattern there is, because I have had absolutely no problems other than learning not to grip my work and fine hook too fiercely! lol.

  4. Anastacia says:

    πŸ™‚ and so pretty it’s coming out, too!

  5. Wazeau says:

    Lovely color choice! I’m doing a lace shawl right now too – I just wish my new bi-focals would hurry up and arrive – my eyes are not happy although I’m loving the yarn!

    • I completely understand about the bifocals. . . my eyes need help with this fine of work too!
      Hope your new glasses come real soon – don’t want you holding your shawl up to your nose so you can see it. lol.

  6. daniellajoe says:

    Gorgeous !!! You know that is one of the colors that I associate with spring, I love the stitch too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

