The Entire Easter Crayon Collection

Knowing I was going to make Easter egg crayons this year, I wanted to find some other Easter and springtime molds. Still I bought only one Wilton “Dancing Daisy Flower” Lollipop Mold last fall.

417 dancing daisy mold

Before I could make any daisy crayons I had to find a way to keep melted crayon from flowing out the grooves in the mold intended for inserting lollipop sticks.

This old bunny mold that I found at a rummage sale has the same problem.

bunny mold for crayons

I figured that hot glue was likely to warp the plastic and a glue like Elmer’s would pop off the first time I flexed the mold to remove finished crayons. It wasn’t until I was in a hardware store on a completely unrelated errand and saw toothpaste-like tubes of caulking that the light in my head finally went on – Caulking!! It sticks to nearly everything. It stays flexible. I just needed to find out whether it could take the heat of melted crayon.

DH got out our old caulking gun, already loaded with a tube of acrylic latex caulk.

417 caulking gun

And it worked! The molds are a mess after making dozens and dozens of crayons, but you can see the remaining daubs of white caulking. One is missing on the “Dancing Daisies” mold. I was almost done when it decided to stick to a daisy crayon instead of staying on the mold. tsk.

417 caulked molds

The caulking doesn’t work perfectly with the daisy shape. On the left the green arrows point out the bit of extra crayon that gets left between two petals. And on the right are daisies I’ve trimmed with a paring knife. It doesn’t take very long to do, but you do want to have a steady hand!

417 flowers to trim

When I bought the two Wilton Easter Egg molds

414 wilton Easter Egg molds

I also grabbed the store’s last two Wilton “Daisy” Cookie Candy Molds.

417 cookie candy molds

These are meant for encasing sandwich cookies, like Oreos, in candy. Each mold can make three daisies and three roses. These daisy molds are larger than the Dancing Daisies I showed at the beginning of this post. Remembering the request I got for crayons that are easier for little kids to hold, I hope to find some more of these before next Easter.

Oh! Maybe I’ll use the rose molds for Valentine’s Day crayons next year. I already have two sizes of heart molds too!

O.K. Are you ready to see lots of pretty, pretty daisy and Easter egg crayons?

I’ll start with one trayful.

417 one trayful

Aren’t they beautiful?! Isn’t it amazing what you can make out of junky worn out crayons!!??!! I just loooove turning trash into treasure.

Our parson’s bench is just big enough to hold all four trays of egg and daisy crayons!

417 four trays on bench

Of course no Easter Crayon Collection would be complete without Bunnies! I used every brown and black crayon I had to make Bunnies, solid brown ones and black ones with white spots.

417 bunny crayons

Each tagged and tied bag holds two Easter eggs, two small and one large daisy and, of course, a Bunny!

417 set of six Easter crayons

Forty-five little bags of crayons ready for the Easter Bunny to put in foster kids’ baskets!! YAY!

417 three boxes filled w/crayons

Happy Easter Everyone!!

This entry was posted in Recycling Crayons and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Entire Easter Crayon Collection

  1. Verneta says:

    I’m getting teary-eyed. You just don’t melt crayons to recycle any old way. You make these foster children a gift that will bring excitement and happiness to their faces. To know someone out there in this big world cares enough to make them beautiful crayons and package their gift with thoughtfulness. To know someone they will probably never meet, thought of them with love! Happy Easter to you and your family, Linda! Happy Easter to all the foster children!

  2. Bettina says:

    wow … wow … wow … what a phenomenal effort!!! you deserve a very big gold star for all the work – how absolutely rewarding!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  3. Rudi O says:

    Wow!! What a Production!! Where did you get so many old crayons? I’m certain that there will be many happy foster kids out there using your crayons on their latest masterpieces!!!
    Way to go!

    • In the beginning I bought bags of them at thrift stores and tag sales, then a friend who was involved in an after-school program thought of asking the students to donate their broken crayons instead of throwing them away at the end of the school year. Next a girl scout leader asked her scouts to collect from each of their classrooms, a labeled collection box was put in the library. . . etc., etc. I’m not too sure where they all come from anymore! lol.

      Oh, Yes! Wouldn’t it be fun to see some of their masterpieces?!! 🙂

  4. daniellajoe says:

    Happy Easter!!!! Fantastic!!! Really nice….

  5. Anastacia says:

    Happy Easter, Linda! I loved seeing your write up and the great photos of the finished crayons at the end.

Leave a Reply

