Blanket in Need of a Name

HELP!! I’ve called this blanket my ‘Mini-Scrap Granny’ for so long I’m having a hard time coming up with a new name and it deserves a much prettier one, one that could help increase its perceived value at auction. ‘Mini-Scrap Granny’ simply doesn’t sound like a special unique one-of-a-kind hand-crocheted item, now does it?!

Any Ideas???

420 'draped' mini-scrap granny

I decided the ‘Light Raspberry’ color should become granny’s edging and, not able to quickly find one I liked, I made up this simple little scallop: 1 sc, skip 1, 1 hdc, chain 3, repeat.

420 border

I admit, I just fudged things whenever I came to a corner. lol. I probably did each one a little differently.

420 border at corner

It’s so satisfying to have turned a bunch of yarn scraps, with the help of several skeins of Red Heart Soft’s ‘Light Yellow Green’,

420 medium view

into such a pretty little blanket! Size: 38″ x 58″

420 wideshot

Well. . . at least I think it’s a pretty blanket, although I kind of regret including those dark olive bits – wince.

I sure hope several people at the silent charity auction think it’s pretty too, so the bids will go up, Up, UP. I’d love to hear that my blanket brought in LOTS of $$$$ for the mission in Haiti!! But I’ll be happy with however well it does.

P.S. I should have mentioned that I named this other afghan, which, although started in August 2011!!, is still in progress, “Flower Garden Granny”.

P.P.S. Thank you for all the great ideas! So many of you mentioned Wildflowers, Field, or both; I’m going with ‘A Field of Wildflowers’.

This entry was posted in Afghan Edgings and Borders, Granny Afghans and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Blanket in Need of a Name

  1. Just gorgeous! Spring granny…Easter Granny?

  2. Lalitha says:

    This afghan is beautiful and reminds me of wild flowers.

  3. Liz says:

    How does “Granny’s garden” sound? The edging came out really nice. So beautiful.

  4. Renee says:

    My wild flower garden, cause it looks like a field of wild flowers.

  5. Linda, way to stick with it! I remember when you first started M.S.G. How truly wonderful to turn all those bits and pieces into this great blanket that I’m sure will fetch a good price at auction.

    It looks like a field of wildflowers or pebbles on a garden path.

    • Thanks for hanging in there with me Karen! I definitely wasn’t fast at making this granny – I looked it up; I started this one last August while camping. – but I enjoyed every step. . . Well, except for that bit of ripping back on the border. lol.

      You were the third to suggest wildflowers!, but I especially liked “A Field of Wildflowers”, which is the name I ended up using. Thank You!!

      And I’m going to write “Pebbles on a Garden Path” in my idea notebook – for some future blanket.

      • Sandi says:

        Weren’t you working on another granny in off white, beige, brown, etc?? Maybe you can name that one Pebbles on a Garden Path??

      • Yes, the one inspired by mushrooms. But since they’re granny squares, it doesn’t seem “pebbly” to me. Maybe Stepping Stones in the Garden?, or simply Garden Path??
        Thanks for the idea – I’ll think on this some more the next time I work on it.

  6. Sally says:

    As soon as I saw it I thought of A Field of Flowers.

  7. another Sharon (sharonb42 says:

    I don’t have a name myself but I really like “Granny’s Garden”.
    I also like the dark olive as long as you have other dark colors here and there.
    I think it’s beautiful whatever you name it and I love your work.

  8. Sandi says:

    My first thought was “Granny’s Garden” and I see others have already given that title. I do like Field of Flowers and Flower Garden too! Good luck deciding – can’t wait to see what you chose.

  9. Anastacia says:

    What about something to do with paintings? You & hubby are the artists, not me, but isn’t there a Monet painting with similar colors?

    • I bet there is a Monet done in these colors, but I’d have to go look it up, so I took the easier route and used a reader’s fine suggestion of, “A Field of Wildflowers”.

      But I like your idea. I should pull out my old Art History textbook. Think of all the blanket color schemes hiding in its pages!!

  10. AnnB says:

    Found this article again, but could not find the update on how this afghan did for the Friends of the Library auction.

Leave a Reply

