A Lace Shawlette

I’m so excited to show you my Morpho shawlette, just off the hook with ends still dangling!

416 wide shot of shawlette

I looove its slightly ruffled two-row border,

416 ruffled edge at point

which I think is far better looking than the “nice, simple scalloped edging” advertised in the pattern description! lol. I plan to gently wet block the shawl’s body in hopes of preserving as much of that ruffle as I can.

I also loove those slightly curved tips.

416 curved tip

After doing about eighteen repeats of Morpho’s easy two-row pattern – remember, I’m using 8/2 cotton thread – it measures 23 inches (58cm)

416 vertical measure

by about 53 inches (1.35cm).

416 horizontal measure

Never having made a shawl before, I thought this sounded plenty large until I actually tried it on. That’s when I decided I want my Morpho to be larger. I promised to contribute a shawl to the charity auction and this is definitely still, in my eyes anyway, a shawlette.

For once ripping back isn’t going to be terribly upsetting. All I’m going to lose is Morpho’s lovely two-row border and that’s an even easier pattern than the two-row main pattern. No, Really!!

But I don’t know how large to go. Guess I’ll just keep crocheting and trying it on until it says Shawl. lol.

This entry was posted in Shawl. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Lace Shawlette

  1. Very pretty. I love the colour.

  2. Verneta says:

    Beautiful … It should raise a lot of money! Great job!

  3. Wawanna says:

    Delicious color! The shawl is lovely. Now you must share the source of the pattern…PLEASE.

  4. ABsoLUTEly gorgeous. If I had made it, there is no way I’d be able to give it away!!!

  5. another Sharon (sharonb42 says:

    I have made shawls before, some good, some not so good and I love yours. I’m usually hot
    blooded and here in Fl it isn’t cold anyway, so a light shawl like this I can use where others need
    heavier. Thank you.

    • You’re Welcome!
      I’m very happy to share such a great pattern with you. Hope you enjoy making your Morpho as much as I’m enjoying mine – well, not really ‘mine’ as I’m giving it to be auctioned but. . . you know what I mean. lol.

  6. That is one of the dilemmas when making shawls from recipe patterns. I usually just keep trying it on until I like how it fits :).

    • Good advice.
      I’ve been thinking that since I’m petite I’m going to make it a little bigger than I would for myself – no telling what height/breadth of person might make the winning bid on it!

Leave a Reply

