2013 #16 – My First Round Baby Ripple

This was my first time to use SmoothFox’s Beginner’s Round Ripple pattern. Because I was crocheting with sport yarns instead of the recommended worsted weight and because the two yarns I chose were quite different from each other, fluffy white Bernat Softee Baby and a much denser variegated wrapped with a shiny nylon thread, I expected some trial and ferror. I watched closely for any tendency of the round blanket to either cup or ruffle. By choosing between either increase rounds, which in this pattern are those with shells, and plain rounds, those with V-stitches, I was able to keep my blanket laying flat.

I like how the ripples are nearly scalloped at the beginning, but slowly morph into bold zigzags as the blanket’s diameter grows!

430a close-up

I crocheted round after round after round – Boy, those last few rounds were loooooong ones! – til I had less than one round’s worth left of both the white and the variegated.

My first round baby ripple is 36″ in the valleys, 42 at the peaks, and weighs fourteen ounces.

Presenting. . .

Cloud Cover

430a full view

I suspect that using all one brand/type of yarn would have made this project simpler, but you know how much I like the spice a little variegated yarn gives a ripple. It was worth the bother.

Something you may find helpful when crocheting a round blanket, especially if you mix yarns – after every few rounds I folded the blanket in half, hoping to see that the fold was a straight line.

430a flat fold ripple

If the fold was starting to curve up . . .

430a smiling fold ripple

it meant I needed more increase rounds,

and if it curved down. . .

430a frowning fold ripple

that meant I needed fewer.

Hopefully none of us will ever have a blanket with such a large long curve as in these photos! I manipulated my flat blanket to look that way for demonstration, but if either curved photo was real I seriously doubt whether I could have forced it to lay completely flat when opened. By simply doing frequent ‘fold checks’ we can make adjustments as soon as the folded blanket’s tips, the last few rounds we did, move up or down a little. I find this slight change shows before cupping or rippling becomes obvious on the open blanket.

BTW – I think Bernat Softee Baby is a particularly Niiice yarn – so Smooth and, like the name says, Soft!! – a joy to work with.

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2013, Round Ripples and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 2013 #16 – My First Round Baby Ripple

  1. Verneta says:

    Great job, Linda…. pretty pattern.

  2. Wawanna says:

    Super Tips! Great execution of stitches, awesome blanket! It does really look like a cloud. What baby would not love to be cuddled within this soft cloud & mother’s arms! You are an inspiration to us all! Thanks for sharing, please don’t ever quit blogging, it is a joy to see your beautiful blankets, and shawls! Keep those needles smokin!

  3. another Sharon (sharonb42 says:

    I love the light, soft colors and everything about this pattern
    Thanks for the extra tips

  4. Anastacia says:

    lovely job as always! i’ve done a few round ripples over the years, forgot what a great stashbuster they are!

    I use that trick about folding all the time for my half circle shawl designs! Of course, most times I want it MORE than a perfect half circle, but by folding it in half frequently it helps to make sure I’m on target. I do the same thing when designing squares, folding it in half corner to corner, not edge to edge, to make sure it lies flat

  5. Rudi O says:

    Thanks for the tips!! I love that you Hook for Charity so much!!! You are an Inspiration!

  6. Renee says:

    again you did a awesome job…!

Leave a Reply

