A Little Somethin’ Special

A particular little ball of fuzzy white yarn, the one I’ve highlighted there on the left, was such a tiny part of last week’s haul,

436 among the tag sale yarns

that even though I noticed  it was “100% angora”, it didn’t seem worth mentioning. But later, as I was about to put it away, I again read the tiny handwritten words “Yarn $12” on the back of its tag, and I began to wonder.

436 angora yarn label

On closer examination I also made out “10 g = ca. 25 m” and considered that I might be holding a 25 meter ball of yarn that had sold for $12. But it hardly seemed possible. I mean, it’s angora, which comes from bunnies, not something exotic like. . . like qiviut, which comes from musk oxen!

Well, clearly, I don’t know much about the full retail value of some yarns. I found “Angora Schulana” here in Yarndex. It’s MSRP is $13.95 – so my benefactor actually got a pretty good deal if she paid only $12! lol. It’s described as “a soft, fuzzy, 2-ply yarn” for sweaters, shawls, cardigans, shells, and scarves. Oh, My! I don’t want to think about how many of these little balls it would take to make a sweater.

Instead I wondered what most people who buy this yarn make out of it. Not really knowing how far 27 yards of yarn goes (25 m. is 27 yd.), I could only think of it as an accent on a scarf, or maybe a mitten and hat set, but I knew Ravelry would give me the facts.

Out of the yarn’s 51 project pages, baby booties, which only take one skein BTW, were the clear winner with fourteen finished projects. That’s probably because Joelle Hoverson chose this particular yarn for her Angora Baby Booties pattern in the book “Last-Minute Knitted Gifts”! Four people trimmed Christmas stockings with it, while three trimmed hats, and another three made cowls. It’s not surprising to me that no one made a 100% angora sweater.

Of the projects that mention the number of skeins used, an adult tam took the most at four. A snood, a wedding shawlette and a vintage stole each used three. Other uses were mixing it with other yarns or trimming just about anything with it, making a baby hat or lace fingerless mitts, lining the ears of either a stuffed bunny or a mouse, knitting a snowman and crocheting a bird.

I feel I should create something wonderful with my one precious ball of “Angora Schulana”,

436 precious angora

but the question is, What?

Maybe that’s how it ended up hidden in a fifty cent bag of yarn at a tag sale in the first place; the original owner couldn’t stand the dilemma of what to make with it either! lol.

This entry was posted in Tag Sales, Yarn Stash and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Little Somethin’ Special

  1. Verneta says:

    Amazing that you know “qiviut” comes from musk oxen! I’ve never heard of either one!

    • I have no idea where or when I first came across that bit of knowledge!
      Could have been when we went to the Rhinebeck, NY Fiber Festival a few years ago. Maybe at the Artic Qiviut booth, which I just found on the vendor list from last year’s festival. I definitely remember seeing yak fibre from Bijou Basin Ranch. But there was also camel, llama, alpaca, cashmere, angora, and, as you’d expect, wool from many, many different kinds of sheep at Rhinebeck. It’s Huge, with over 250 booths!

      More Qiviut facts you may find at least a little interesting, lol:
      Qiviut is eight times warmer than sheep wool. It does not shrink, no matter how hot the water, so no good for felting. And, unlike sheep, muskox are not sheared. Instead the quiviut is plucked from their coats during the spring molt, or gathered from objects they’ve rubbed against.

  2. Anastacia says:

    Jon once found me some angora – which I’m allergic to – at a yard sale, the balls I had were 25 gram balls, & I had 4 skeins. I swapped it with someone on Rav for roughly $50 worth of sock yarn – $50! I even told her that he only paid $1 for all of it, because I didn’t want to take advantage of her, but she wanted to make her baby an angora sweater out of it & had researched the yarn at over $100, so to her, the $50 trade was more than even!

Leave a Reply

