Ripple #23 – Baby Yellow Buttercups

My dear husband wanted to call this Round Baby Ripple ‘Buttercups’ even though buttercups are actually a Very Bright YELLOW, so I tacked on the words ‘Baby Yellow’. I figure a plant hybridizer somewhere in the world must have come up with a light yellow buttercup!

444 full view

I started out with at least seven ounces each of Red Heart Soft Baby in ‘Powder Yellow’, TLC Baby, which is also from Red Heart, in ‘Powder Blue’, and a variegated yarn of yellow, mint green and blue. I intended to make three round stripes, but, as you can see,  I crocheted four rounds the first time I used the variegated.

444 close-up

Somehow I did manage to count to three from then on; the two-round yellow edging is not a mistake! Having reached my target size of 36″ in the valley, I simply stopped. The last yellow round is of hdcs, a good idea when using such soft yarns as it makes the edge a little sturdier than a dc round would.

444 edge - one round dc, one round hdcWeight 13 ounces.

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2013, Round Ripples and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ripple #23 – Baby Yellow Buttercups

  1. I kind of like the effect that first 4round vari gives! Doing the last round in hdc is a great idea. I just learn so much from you! Thank you for continuing to share your adventures with us.

  2. Verneta says:

    Very pretty!

  3. Melissa says:

    I am just devouring your blog. It’s kismet, I’ll tell you what. One, I’ve been collecting as much acrylic as I can….because….I am obsessed with the ripple pattern and want as many colors as possible…and I had no idea what to do with them when I was through. I don’t want to OWN them, just create them and even though I do have 7 children of my own, I feel like I’ve found “my” project now. Foster children are near and dear to my heart, for personal reasons. It’s nice to “meet” you. (I friend you on Rav too!)

    • DH was home last week so I just hit approve on most comments without responding. But now I’m back. So. . . Hi Melissa, and Welcome to Alottastiches!

      I’m delighted to hear you’ve been having such fun exploring the blog. Sounds like my ripple project really hit a cord with you! ‘Ripple Obsession’, wouldn’t that be a fantastic name for a blog?!? lol. I completely agree; I don’t want any ripples for us. Although I have to admit there have been a few over the years that sorely tempted me, so don’t be surprised if each of your children glom onto a particular ripple that caught their eye. Actually, and this is just between you and I, this project is just an excuse to sit around playing with colors. . . week after week!! HAHa.

      Nice to ‘meet’ you too. 🙂
      I’d love to hear how your ripple project proceeds.

Leave a Reply

