Instead of Crocheting

Berry Season has started in Connecticut so, instead of crocheting, I spent yesterday evening picking berries.

452 picking red currants

The first of our berries to ripen are the red currants.

452 sprig of currants

Since we’ve only got two red currant bushes I was soon finished – I got about 3 pounds –

452 bowl of currants

and moved on to the gooseberries, which oddly stay green colored although they do gradually get softer and sweeter as they ripen.

452 gooseberry branch

We’ve promised the majority of this year’s gooseberry crop

452 picking gooseberries

to a woman who makes jams and jellies for her church’s annual Fall Festival. I used to sell our excess berries by the pint, along with bunches of garden flowers, from a little stand in our front yard. It was fun to introduce people to new kinds of berries – have you tasted either red currants or gooseberries? – but I must say, it’s much easier to be able to sell them all in one shot!

452 adding to bowl

Since we’ve eaten all of last summer’s blackberries and have only one container each of blueberries and peaches left, there’s plenty of room in the freezer for the nine pounds that I picked.

452 bowlful goose

There are many more to come. I estimate these are only about a quarter of our gooseberry crop!

452 berries in freezer

The black raspberries will be next!

452 ripening black raspberries

Soon to be followed by blueberries,

452 first ripening blueberries

lots and lots of blueberries!!

452  loaded blueberry branch

Then will come the yellow raspberries, red raspberries, peaches and, finally, blackberries! Yum, yum, yum and Yum!! My mouth waters at the thought.

P.S.  This has nothing to do with berries or crocheting – I just want to share our Seven Sisters climbing rose with you. It has reached the roof of our two-story garage!

452 climbing rose

Grandma gave a piece of her Seven Sisters plant to my mom who in turn gave a piece to me. My climbing rose will always remind me of them.

This entry was posted in Our Gardens and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Instead of Crocheting

  1. tiniree says:

    What a wonderful post! And, now my mouth is watering for everything berries!

    • Thank You!!

      I noticed both blueberries and cantaloupe have great prices at some of the markets right now. Maybe they do where you are too.
      BTW – they taste really good together, even better with a few red or black raspberries. . . and some ice cream! 🙂

  2. Kathy says:

    Love the Seven Sisters pic! …. When I was a child we lived up in Western NY….and black raspberry ice cream was my favorite! I miss it!….Kathy

  3. Anastacia says:

    I’m seriously jealous about the berries. My folks have some berries – blueberries, raspberries & strawberries – but nowhere near that amount!

Leave a Reply

