Ripple #27 – Waves II*

Another reason for my recent switch in ripple patterns is that this bright blue yarn, Neveda Newo-Lon Sport, which I also used in last week’s ripple, is much finer than my other ‘sport’ yarns, including this white, Brunswick Sparkle Twist, which is a rather firm crinkled yarn, and the ‘Soft Blue’ Bernat Coordinates.

453 close-up

I don’t want to imagine how much fun combining these different weights and textures of yarn would have made trying to create a round ripple that neither ruffled or cupped, but I knew that I could easily get away with it while using the more forgiving Eyelet Ripple pattern. Yay!

453 full-view

Ripple Ideas

I noticed that the stripes made of the thinner bright blue yarn pull in ever so slightly making the side edges undulate a little, rather perfect for a blanket called ‘Waves’! lol.

453 scalloped edge

This made me wonder what would happen if I made a ripple out of even more widely  varying weights of yarn. Let’s say fingering, sport and worsted. It would be fun to find out!

It also occurred to me that I’ve never made a vertically striped ripple!

453 a vertically striped ripple

Hmmm, my fake vertically striped ripple came out a little narrow, but you get the idea! I think I’m going to have to make at least one real one.

*  I discovered that I already named a ripple Waves, so I changed this one to Waves II.

This entry was posted in Eyelet Ripples, Inspiration, Ripple Afghans of 2013 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ripple #27 – Waves II*

  1. daniellajoe says:

    Still perfect! ! 🙂

  2. Edith says:

    Love this one!

Leave a Reply

