So Many Pretty Colors!

JoAnn recently had an on-line sale of 50% off all her crochet cotton! Plus, she offered to ship it to me for free if I would just spend $50 or more. I knew reaching $50 would be Easy, lol, but deciding which of the 56 colors of Aunt Lydia’s #10 Crochet Cotton to order was a little more difficult.

This nondescript brown box arrived a few days later.

0-CLRS-0

The translucent packaging inside teased, not quite letting me see the colors.

460 top layer

Ooooo. They’re like a summer meadow!

460 yellows and greens

So far I think I did very well at picking colors! Let’s check out the next layer.

Aaaah. It’s every bit as nice as the first!

460 blue/purple/red

And then comes the last layer,

which holds a rather jumbled assortment,

460 5

but when you put them all together  – jumping up and down – it’s like having a brand new box of crayons!

460 All the Pretty Colors!

So Many Pretty Colors!! How can I choose the one color I’ll use first?

I know, I know!!

I’ll weave something striped, no, Plaid, so I can play with a whole bunch of colors at once! lol.

This entry was posted in Thrifty Treasures, Yarn Stash and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to So Many Pretty Colors!

  1. another Sharon (sharonb42 says:

    You are too funny!!! Love all those colors, such fun!!!

  2. yarnchick40 says:

    That right there is pixie dust and unicorns and ohmygosh that looks fabulous!!! Super excited for you and I can’t wait to see what you create!!

  3. Wazeau says:

    oh how wonderful! All those lovely colors, really makes me wish my eyes and hands would let me do doilies again! Have fun!

    • Sorry, I don’t have any better solution for your hand problems than simply crocheting for very short periods – I know, lame, right? –
      but I think I may have found a Really Good solution for our poor eyes!. . .

      Recently I saw a jeweler using a magnifying lamp, like one of these, and I thought, WOW! How Coool is that!?!

    • DrLfan says:

      Build up your steel crochet hook handle with polymer clay/or tape and gel pencil grips….and get a lighted magnifier. See at Joann.com or here http://www.amazon.com/Carson-MagniShine-LED-Lighted-Magnifier/dp/B0011WYMF0 They have an adjustable cord that goes round your neck and the magnifier rests on your chest. or get some cheap (but cute) reading glasses and rest them on your nose, below your regular glasses and good lighting.

      • I don’t know what the chances are that Wazeau will respond to your comment since this post is a few months old, but I will! 🙂

        I have a lighted magnifier that I got years ago when I painted miniatures.
        I should give it a try the next time I crochet with thread! Thanks for the reminder.

        I may decide that I don’t need the magnification so much as the light, in which case I could switch to my little reading light.

  4. Barb says:

    How much fun! My favorite thing with any art supply I buy is to have lots and lots of colors! And… a plaid will definitely be fabulous. Reading about your weaving makes me want to get my loom up and running! Someday soon, I hope.

    • Oh, tell me about your loom! – there are so many different kinds.

      And until then you can daydream about all the weaving projects you’d like to do. 🙂

      • Barb says:

        My loom is a Leclerc 8 harness floor loom. I would say it is somewhere between 36″ – 48″ wide (I would have to get a measuring tape!). It came with four harnesses. It folds up and is currently put together upside down – or so I was told. I happened upon it over at Kendall in Grand Rapids. I had been sent there to scout out used furniture at a sale for our school district (I teach art). While I found nothing for the district, I found a whole room full of looms for sale. I was stunned. I earned a BFA in weaving and textile design in 89 but haven’t woven since…. I was looking at this little loom and there was an older couple looking at a loom right next to me. The male half of the couple smiled at me and said…. “That’s a great loom at a terrific price, but it’s been put together upside down, so you would have to redo some things.” He seemed to know what he was talking about and the loom was only $250.00…. so I bought it!! I will not tell you how many years ago that was… but it is still sitting in my studio untouched. I have to figure out exactly what type of loom it is and see if I can get hold of a manual and then fix it. It’s a beauty – small, but not too small and it has room to expand to 8 harnesses. I haven’t woven since 1988, but it’s probably much like riding a bike…… I have a baby rigid heddle that my cousin found at a garage sale, but I haven’t used that either….. there are too many things that I enjoy doing and not enough time!!
        Sorry for the tremendously long reply…… : )
        Can’t wait to see what you create with all of those colors!

      • Oh, Barb, you have absolutely no reason to be sorry for writing such a wonderfully looong response! I looove hearing all about your loom(s). 🙂

        A whole room of looms for sale!! – I’d be stunned too!! lol.

        Put together upside down – I’m trying to think what that could possibly mean? Well, when you’re ready you could post a couple of photos of your loom in the appropriate weaving forum of Ravelry and I bet someone there would be able to identify it and probably tell you what needs changing too. With the help of a couple different-sized wrenches I expect you’d be able to set it straight. Many manuals are available on-line.

        I have only woven one scarf and the project I’m currently working on since I left college in ’79 with my BA in Art Education so I can tell you that, yes, weaving is alot like riding a bike, a little wobbly at first but I’m delighted with how much is coming back to me.

        ” there are too many things that I enjoy doing and not enough time!! ”
        Ain’t that the Truth!! LOL.

Leave a Reply

