More Berries, More Flowers, And Tomatoes!

Yes, I’m still picking berries and we are enjoying our heaviest crop of blueberries ever!

It’s always been our policy to eat as many as we want fresh and then freeze the rest. In the past that’s meant we froze very few, lol, so we would use the frozen blueberries sparingly in pancakes or corn muffins. But last winter we had enough that I tried some thawed in my oatmeal. It was goooood! The memory has me looking forward to many servings of  blueberry oatmeal this winter.

466 berry trays

As you see, the black raspberry season is just about over, but the red ones are quickly picking up speed and the golden ones are off to a good start too.

We find it easier to just let the red and yellow raspberries grow in thickets instead of trying to confine them to tidy rows.

466 red raspberry thicket

But there’s a price to be paid for our laziness. On a dewy morning the front of my pant legs get very wet.

466 wet jeans

And my shoes and socks, (or soaks, as I first typed) well, they’re Saturated!

466 Wet Feet!

I wear my socks out over the hem of my jeans like that in hope of keeping any adventurous deer ticks from getting in. It’s a glamorous look, don’t you think? lol. – By the way, those are not ticks on my socks, I shudder at the thought of that many ticks!, just harmless clinging weed seeds.

My Black-Eyed Susans are in bloom. Heavy rain toppled these,

466 black-eyed susans with birdhouse

but there are plenty more over by the veggie garden. . .

466 large patch of black-eyed susans

where I’m about to pick our first tomatoes of the season. Woo-Whooo!!

466 first cherry tomatoes

I can’t wait for the Big Boys to be ready! BLTs anyone?

466-big-boys

This entry was posted in Our Gardens and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to More Berries, More Flowers, And Tomatoes!

  1. daniellajoe says:

    Lovely harvest!! I’m going to try container gardening. I just hate finding frogs or snakes ( shudder) in my garden …

  2. SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO jealous!

    • Maybe you wouldn’t be quite so jealous if you saw how green my hands are – Yuck! – after I tie up all the new growth on the twenty tomato plants. 🙂

      • It’s true that gardening is a lot of work. We put in a few plants this year, but then we had to fence off that part of the yard. Our dogs like to help aerate the earth. Plus, they like tomatoes just as much as we, and they are not above helping themselves!

        Your berry blog entry gave me just the extra push I needed. I had been thinking if making up some blueberry jam. While I don’t have a thicket I do have a BJ’s Warehouse store that has blueberries at 2lb for $5. I’m happy to report I now have 4 pint containers of blueberry jam for my freezer!

        Dear Daughter and I are also going to plant our own berry plants this fall! We have a spot we think will be just right in our backyard. Blueberries are my favorite, but I’m wondering if we’d get a bigger crop from raspberries or blackberries. Has that, indeed, been your experience?

      • I didn’t mean to make it sound like tying the tomatoes was lots of work, it actually doesn’t take very long to do and is kind of fun. It’s just that I don’t like the way my hands look after – ewww – or that ‘tomato plant’ smell. I’m glad the tomatoes themselves don’t smell that way! lol.

        “Our dogs like to help aerate the earth.” Oh. No. Just like the deer like to prune my blackberries and the neighbor’s chickens like to. . . well, I think they just like to make a Mess!! lol.
        Your dogs eat tomatoes!? But why am I surprised? Emily loooves spinach.

        Yay!! Homemade blueberry jam!! Yummy. 😀

        Blueberry bushes are slow growing, giving you less than a handful per bush in the beginning, but eventually they get Huge! Our oldest bushes – after the first planting we added a few at a time whenever I could get Big ones for cheap at local nursery and even grocery store end-of-season markdowns – are taller than me now. The only maintenance we do is to trim away anything that died during the winter. Oh, and they need acidic soil.

        Raspberry canes bear from their very first year and will multiply slowly, if you let them. It’s easy to just mow off any babies that happen to come up before they get woody once you have enough. To get the best crop you need to whack them back to about waist height in the early spring before they show any growth. Not hard work, but it does take some time.

        Our blackberries were slow to get going. If I remember correctly we had one variety that didn’t handle our winters very well and DH ended up ripping them out to try another kind. I’m not sure what the pruning routine is. It seems to me that he does them twice a year? I can ask.

  3. tiniree says:

    We gardened a lot when we lived in Colorado & I miss that. Your pics make me “homesick”. Here is AZ, where every crawling critter seems to want to make a meal out me (which is the reason for my industrial size bottle of Benedryl in the cupboard), and the heat, we just don’t garden at all 😦 I will just have to live vicariously thru your posts & pics 🙂

    • Maybe you could do like DanielleJoe and try gardening in containers some day.

      In the meantime, I hope you continue to enjoy my yard and garden. I’ll take on all the crawling critters on your behalf. lol.

  4. Denise says:

    Oh wow..Everything looks delish. I remember up in NJ picking berries and making homemade blackberry ice cream. The BLTs were amazing! Also my parents were Organic gardeners in the 70’s before it became cool! I never see black eyed susans here. I miss the North. I have lived in Florida for 30 years.

    • When I read NJ I automatically thought ‘Blueberries’!! When our blueberry bushes were small we would watch and wait for blueberries to go on sale for 99 cents a pint every year, then eat our fill. I noticed on their labels that they usually came from New Jersey.
      Boy, they’re not 99 cents anymore! Last week one of the stores advertised them in their weekly flyer at $2.99. I couldn’t help but say, They call that a Sale?!? lol.

      I bet after all that time there are some things about Florida that you would really miss too! Though, since I’ve only been once, I won’t even venture a guess as to what they’d be.

Leave a Reply

