Tote Bag Update

I’ve finished weaving my. . .

my what?

. . .  my tote bag cover, my hand-woven rag yardage, my ‘camouflaged bear’ material?

467 fabric for tote

Well, whatever you may choose to call it, I’ve reached the end of the warp, so I’m calling it Done! lol.

467 done!

The great reveal. . .

467 ready to come off

This view gives you a better idea of how much fabric I made. If my math was correct – let’s hope so – there should be more than enough to cover the front and back of my logo-ed tote bag.

467 handwoven tote yardage

Here’s a little sneak preview!

467 laying across bag

Oh, it looks every bit as good as I’d imagined it would! I really like the way the faint black stripe in my fabric’s warp threads echoes the black at the top of the tote. I hope I still feel this way about it after I’ve sewn the panels on. Sewing through the hand-woven rag fabric and the rubbery-backed tote fabric may be a challenge, especially at the ends of the panels where I’ll be going through two layers of my fabric plus the tote! I’ll find out soon enough,

but first I choose to do an easier task – making a pocket out of the bear fabric

457 red and black fabric

and sewing it inside the tote bag.

This entry was posted in Bags, Weaving and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tote Bag Update

  1. daniellajoe says:

    I am impressed!!! that bag is gorgeous!!

  2. Anastacia says:

    Wow, Linda, you really did a great job! I’d love to see this when you are all finished with it. How much overlap did you plan on, for wrapping around the bag? Or did you plan any overlap at all?

Leave a Reply

