Fleece Blanket Tutorial – Part 2

A Simple Two-Round Crochet Edging

Generally, I’m going to follow the Project Linus ‘Skip-Stitch Blade Instructions’ for a crochet edging but, since I rounded off the corners on my piece of fleece, I’ll make a couple of small changes.

Finding the ‘Right Side’

Before we pick up our crochet hooks, I want to draw attention to the first phrase in the Foundation Pattern, “With right side of fleece facing you”. I don’t know what it’s like for you, but I can’t always tell just by looking, which is the fleece’s ‘right side’.

477 fleece - front & back

Oh, no. This particular piece of fleece makes a very poor example as it’s quite easy to tell its front and back apart, but we can pretend, can’t we?

The wording that’s printed along the selvedge is a real giveaway. It might as well spell out, “This is the front!” lol.

477 edge words

But I must remember, I’m going to be trimming away that wording along with the rest of the selvedge, so I’d better mark the front side in some other way. A vintage diaper pin will do the job.

477 diaper pin

If the front and back of a fleece look identical and there’s no wording on the selvedge, we can still figure out which side is which.

Fleece fabric is a knit, so it stretches more in one direction than the other. The less stretchy direction is parallel to the selvedge. Here I’m holding it relaxed.

477 slevedge - relaxed

When I stretch along that edge, the one where I cut away the selvedge, the fleece curls just a little toward its front or right side.

477 selvedge stretched

In the other direction, going from selvedge to selvedge, which is called the cross-grain,

477 cross-grain relaxed

the fleece is stretchier and curls to the back or wrong side.

477 cross-grain stretched

Why bother learning about this, if it’s so hard to tell front from back? Because I have a suspicion that the front and back will look quite different from each other once the blanket has been ‘lived with’ and washed several times. But I admit I’m just guessing as we’ve never had a fleece throw. Can any of you speak from experience?

Foundation Round

The Linus directions continue, telling us to begin by working a single crochet in any hole but a corner one, and then chain 1, so, staying away from the curved corner, that’s exactly what I did.

477 22 beg cro

Work a * single crochet in the next hole, and then chain 1. Repeat from *. The edge of the fleece easily rolls toward the back as I crochet.

477 23a front

This is how it looks from the back.

477 23b back

If you have any difficulty getting the fleece edge to roll nicely, double-check that your holes are about 3/4″ in from the edge. If the holes aren’t in far enough there won’t be enough fabric to roll and if they’re too far in the extra fabric will bunch up.

Continue by repeating “sc in the next hole, chain 1”. This foundation round is so Quick and Easy; you’ll soon find yourself

477 24 vroom

nearing the first rounded corner.

477 25 nearing the corner

To create some ease as I go around the curve I elongate each chain stitch by tugging upward a little as I complete it. This tug is so small someone watching me crochet probably wouldn’t even notice,

477 25A tug up

but it’s enough to make a difference and the corner lays flat; it doesn’t cup at all. Yay!

477 27 corner complete

Figuring out how much to tug will take some trial and error. If your corner doesn’t cooperate, it’s easy enough to pull out the stitches and try again.

477 28 corner undone

Fleece is durable and can stand up to multiple re-dos.

477 29 foundation row Ta-Dah!

Finishing Round

Steps 1 through 3 of the Project Linus ‘Suggested Finishing Pattern’ are self-explanatory. Repeat steps 2 and 3 until you are nearing the first rounded corner.

477 nearing corner

As in the foundation round, we have to create some ease as we go around the curve or the blanket will cup. I tried working a few groups of 4 dcs among the pattern’s usual groups of 3, but that didn’t work, so then I tried elongating the first and third dc stitches in each group of 3, much the same as I elongated the chain stitches between the scs in the foundation round.

I work the dc stitch as usual but when I’m done I elongate the loop that’s on my hook before I move on to the next stitch. This is how snugly the loop normally sits on my hook.

477 regular dc ending

And this is how much I elongate it.

477 elongated dc

Doing this usually gives me just enough ease. Yay!

477 Ta-dah!

But sometimes, depending on the thickness and stiffness of the yarn, I need to elongate every dc. In that case, – you already know what comes next, lol. – I just rip back to before the curve and try again.

477 ripped out

Once I get that first corner to lay smoothly, it’s easy to work the other three in the same way.

474 striped fleece with crocheted edging

I hope these photo tutorials are helpful as you add crochet edgings to fleece blankets for your friends, your family and, hopefully, a charity program.

This entry was posted in Fleece Blankets and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Fleece Blanket Tutorial – Part 2

  1. what a brilliant post! it makes me itch to grab a piece of fleece right this second (but can’t happen, sadly) 🙂

    • Thank You!!
      Sorry you can’t easily get your hands on some fleece. I’d gladly share a piece or two from stash so you could get started right away.
      Oh, if we could only meet halfway, but that would be quite the afternoon drive, wouldn’t it?! HAha.

  2. Bettina says:

    fabulous … can hardly wait unti I get a chance to put this into practice … thanks Linda!!

    • You’re very welcome!

      I don’t think they ever offer a sale price on the Skip-Stitch Blade,
      but I’m sure you can get whichever other tools you need on sale or with coupons.
      You know me, just hate to pay full-price if I don’t have to. lol.

      I look forward to hearing all about your first fleece blanket! 🙂
      Feel free to send me a pic to share on the blog if you like.

  3. daniellajoe says:

    Very nice tutorial thanks!

  4. Anastacia says:

    What a great tute, Linda, and how much work you put into it! I have no fleece in my stash, sadly, and I’ve never seen any for sale at a yard sale – someone must be beating me to it every time! That’s why I got the idea of buying a premade blanket or two… Black Friday the throws (around 40 by 50 inches) go for 99 cents… and then adding the edging.

    • Yes, the tutorial took alot of time, but I’m hoping that it will help alot of people get started on their first fleece blanket. Once they’ve experienced just how Fast and Easy they are to make, I’m sure they’ll want to do many more!

      I used to find fleece at tag sales every now and then, but that was back when I went tag saling about every other weekend.

      Wow! What a fantastic buy on fleece throws!! Maybe they’ll do the same sale this year.
      If they do, I’d be glad to run my Skip-Stitch Blade round them for you.

  5. Underground Crafter says:

    Thanks for sharing this tutorial!

  6. Barb Schwartz says:

    My only question is: on the selvedge edge it naturally curls one way; on the perpendicular edge it naturally curls the other way. How do you get the edges to all curl to the “back”?

  7. M says:

    Thanks so much for your post. I’m starting blankets for my little Thomas the Train and Queen Elsa right now. I’m sure they would thank you, too.

    • You’re very welcome.
      I bet your little people are going to love their new blankets!

      Beware! – This is such a quick project, there are so many cute fleece prints and such good sale prices; it’s terribly easy to keep buying and edging “just one more”. Yup, I speak from experience. 🙂

  8. Kelly W says:

    I’m crocheting the edge of a blanket for a doggie lovey and after I did the initial sc and chain 1 round, I started on a hdc round and it’s curling, sort of like getting wavy. I don’t know what I’ve done, I went into every sc with a hdc and also each chain 1 space with a hdc. Any help would be greatly appreciated and thanks for the tutorial! Merry Christmas!

    • Hi Kelly ~

      I’m so sorry that the crocheted edging on your doggie lovey is not behaving. 😦

      I think I know how you can fix it. . .
      When you say “it’s curling, sort of like getting wavy”, I’m not sure if you mean the blanket is cupping/turning into a bowl (border’s too small) or the border is ruffling (border’s too big). If the blanket is cupping, I would try using one size larger hook – if the border is ruffling, go with one size smaller. Hope that makes sense. Feel free to ask more questions.

      Oh, If everything was fine until you started on the second round, meaning the blanket laid flat, you can probably get away with just ripping out the partial round of hdcs.

      I hope all goes smoothly for you this time. Please let me know.
      And a Happy Boxing Day to You!

      Linda

  9. Lamackar.com says:

    I love the very thorough tutorial! Great job

  10. Liz Albanese says:

    I purchased a Skip-Cut Rotary Cutter Blade and then I purchased a piece of fleece to crochet around. When I used the cutter it actually caused the fleece to pull apart. What an I doing wrong? How can I correct this? Any help will be much appreciated.

    • Hi Liz ~
      Sorry that you’re having such a terrible time with your project! I’ve never had that problem, but a couple of my other blog visitors have. You can read my suggestions in the comments that follow the first part of this tutorial – HERE.

Leave a Reply

