An Anonymous Yarn Fairy

Because I mentioned that I was going to crochet some Christmas blankets for the foster kids, the charity group set aside lots of Christmasy yarns for me when they divvied up a Big Donation of Yarn. Thanks!

503 Christmas yarns

More Christmas yarn means more Christmas blankets for the kids!

I know they’ll especially appreciate the soft sheen of all this white Red Heart Sparkling yarn. I’ve never seen this particular brand before; Ravelry says it’s discontinued. I suppose it’s the 40% nylon content that makes it sparkle like snow. Not very soft, but the sparkle is quite pretty!

503 Sparkling

As if all that Christmas yarn wasn’t enough,

my bag

503 bagful

also held all this.

503 yarn spectrum

Altogether I was given over nine pounds of yarn!

503 pile of yarn

Hidden among the skeins I found this receipt from Knitters World.

503 yarn receipt

Did you notice the date? 02/04/89.

1989!! That’s twenty-four years ago!

Thank you, Anonymous Yarn Fairy. The kids and I really appreciate that you hung onto your stash for this long and decided to pass it on to us.

This entry was posted in Yarn Stash and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to An Anonymous Yarn Fairy

  1. Lots of lovelies! 1989. Haha! That’s the year my husband and I were married.

  2. Verneta says:

    What a blessing! Those children are so lucky to be warmed by your crocheted love! When I crochet with a yarn that is not very soft or is stiff, it always softens up once it is washed. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family, Linda!

  3. Bettina says:

    how absolutely wonderful 🙂

  4. Kathy says:

    What a blessing to all!!
    Kathy 🙂

Leave a Reply

