#66 – The 13th and Last Christmas Ripple of 2013

It’s pretty obvious that I wanted to use up every last bit of my remaining Red/Green/White variegated yarn in this blanket, isn’t it?

‘Tis the Season

518 csms13 full view

I thought I had set a new record for myself with this ripple – 28 rows of variegated in one kid-sized ripple! When I looked through the other Christmas ripples, I not only discovered that the 4th, Snow-Covered Holly, also had 28 rows, but that my true record, until now unacknowledged, is 34 rows of variegated in the 5th Christmas ripple, Five Golden Rings. Woo-Whoo!! That will be hard to beat.

I also finished off the burgundy yarn with metallic gold but, as has often been the case, you can’t see its subtle metallic bling in my regular close-up photo.

518 csms13 close-up

Knowing that this blanket was my last opportunity, I tried again and again to capture the magic glint. It is maddening that this is the ‘best’ that I got.

518 csms13's metallic glint

See those tiny light specks on the single rows off brighter burgundy, the ones bordered on both sides by variegated? – that’s the only evidence of the golden metallic strand that’s wrapped round the yarn. Yeah, you need a very good imagination to ‘see’ how pretty this yarn really is.

Well, at least the picture helps you appreciate the rich texture of the burgundy chenille yarn! Anyway, the point was to get all those yarns out-of-the-way so I can start building a new stash for Christmas 2014. Who knows what festive yarns may come my way during the coming year?!

Thanks to all of you for hanging around while I rippled away these last several weeks. Here’s a gallery of this year’s thirteen Christmas ripples in no particular order:

518 cms 7-12

cms1-6

518 cms 13 Gallery

So many ideas flittered about in my head while my hands were occupied with Christmas color combos and hook. It’s hard to narrow them down and pick out The One to explore next but rest assured, whichever project I choose, I will share it with you through alottastitches.

A Very HaPpY New Year to All My Lovely Readers

from Linda, DH and Emily.

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2013, Ripple Series - Christmas 2013 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to #66 – The 13th and Last Christmas Ripple of 2013

  1. Oh, wow! You saved a really good one for last! What a wonderful assortment of ribbon candy! Congratulations on another year of great charity work combined with an awesome use of thrifty resources!

  2. patricia says:

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you and your family!!!! and I love them all 🙂

  3. Kathy says:

    Beautiful work! You’re amazing! Happy New Years!
    Kathy 🙂

  4. Barb says:

    Beautiful as usual! You do great work and I love seeing them all together in a photo collage. Thanks for sharing. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

