A Garden Banner

This is what I made with the aprox. 7″ wide hot pink and turquoise (cotton?) warp that came on my Saori loom.

523 on the arbor

I had a completely different end project in mind as I wove it – I’ll show you what I turned the fabric into in a future post. – but seeing this picture makes me think that I should weave a banner with the intention of leaving it as a garden banner, maybe even hanging on our grape arbor just like in the picture!

If I use acrylic yarns I imagine it would last a loooong time even though fully exposed to the elements. But maybe I should use only biodegradable materials, as I’m sure birds will pick the banner apart when they collect building materials for their nests. It would be Fun to later find a nest in which colorful bits of my banner were incorporated.

Getting back to this banner. . . The previous owner of the loom had already woven a few inches (at the bottom in both photos) using several different colors and textures, which I continued to do, more or less, throughout the rest of the piece, making it rather Saori, or freestyle, in spirit.

523 close-up

P.S. Don’t be fooled by the background of these photos. – It’s still winter here in Connecticut! – I took the pictures back in October, immediately after I took my ‘banner’ off the loom.

This entry was posted in Weaving and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Garden Banner

  1. yarnchick40 says:

    Garden banners sound like a fun project ~ thanks for the inspiration 🙂

  2. Can’t wait to see what you did with this! Anticipation!

  3. Stéphanie says:

    This is gorgeous !!! Love the mix of colors !

    By the way, I am a new follower of you 🙂 I am a 35 years old mom from Canada and I learned to crochet a couple of years ago and I am HOOKED 🙂

    Found your blog by googling “yarn haul” 🙂

    I love to see how passionate you are about your work and how much you give back to others… Very inspiring

    Stéphanie 😉

    • Hi Stephanie!
      Welcome to alottastitches and Thank You for joining.
      How funny that you found me through a “yarn haul” google. – What a way to become ‘famous’, HAha, by coming home with BIG piles of bargain-priced yarns!
      Hopefully you find an idea or two here for your future projects. I look forward to hearing about them! BTW – What’s on your hook now?
      Linda

Leave a Reply

