#8 This Week’s Ripple

I received so many beautiful muted colors in the Mmmm, Sherbet! Yarn Collection, I couldn’t resist the idea of a Sherbet Rainbow Ripple. Oh, what a wonderful time I had rummaging around in my attic stash looking for just the right combination of yarns! After much comparing, rearranging and substituting of colors while trying to create a softly blended rainbow, I brought this range of 17 yarns downstairs to look at them in full daylight. – The fluorescent shoplights upstairs can do such odd things to colors.

535 shbt prp535 shbt yelo grn535 shbt blues

There’s only one chenille in the mix, periwinkle, which I placed at both the beginning and end of the above rainbow. It serves as the linchpin between blues and purples. You know its source. Say it with me now – “Unraveled. From. A. Thrift. Store. Sweater.”, the most frugal source for fine chenille yarns! lol.

I made a few more changes, got rid of the darkest yellow and added a darker peach, etc., before I was ready to pick up the hook. There were such small amounts of a few colors, like the yellow-green, – wish I had an even yellower yellow-green – I could only make single-row stripes of them, but did two-row stripes of the rest.

535 shrbt close

What a delightful project! It was every bit as enjoyable to watch the colors change on my third time through the sequence as it was the first.

Irresistible

535 shrbt full view

I want to take the Rainbow Ride again! I hope to create a new yarn rainbow using the remnants from this ripple with the results of another stash dive.

535 shrbt angled

I was thinking about Rainbow Swirl Sherbet when I took this shot!

535 shrbt swirl

MMmm, makes me want to check out the local grocery’s selection of sherbet flavors.

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2014 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to #8 This Week’s Ripple

  1. Verneta says:

    Beautiful … for sure to brighten the day of a sweet foster child!

  2. tiniree says:

    As always, just beautiful! Your sense of color placement amazes me :O

    • Oh, Thank You, but it’s rather hard to go wrong with a rainbow. Maybe you’d enjoy giving one a try. You certainly don’t need to gather 17 colors of yarn. – It looks like my next rainbow ripple’s only going to have 6 or 7.

  3. AnnB says:

    Cuddly deliciousness. You did good.

  4. Oh, my gosh! It’s stunning!!!!!

  5. Kathy says:

    So pretty! I see the sherbet colors and I also thought of the colors in Fruit Loops!…lol
    Really like this one!
    Kathy 🙂

  6. Bettina says:

    LOVE it … utterly delicious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

