Day Trippin’

Last Wednesday DH took the afternoon off. We had a quick lunch and then headed over to the IKEA south of Boston. Rarely am I without a crochet or knit project when I’m a car passenger, but I didn’t have a ripple in progress to take along. It felt so odd not to crochet at all during an hour and a half long ride!

This was our first visit to an IKEA store. In case you’ve never been, I’ll warn you that they are HUGE!! Altho’ the store map showed shortcuts, we briskly followed the directional arrows on the floor of the main aisle which takes you through every department. About two and a half hours later we hadn’t yet reached the end of the ‘trail’ but were famished and on Scandinavian design overload, so we headed to the store’s cafeteria where we both chose the generously sized and yet very reasonably priced Chicken Fiesta Salads. Fresh and Delicious! We shared our exotic beverages, Elderberry Flower and Lingonberry juice.

Rejuvenated, we headed northward. Expecting heavy afternoon commuter traffic, we had allowed extra travel time but it was smooth sailing and then DH found a street parking spot just around the corner from our destination, so we found ourselves with plenty of time to walk over to the Ten Thousand Villages shop that I’d noticed a couple of blocks away. I’d hoped to find earrings or a necklace for myself, – My birthday’s next month, always a great excuse for a splurge, right? – but nothing ‘jumped out at me’, if you know what I mean. I did see a little jewelry travel pouch that gave me an idea of how I could sew little drawstring crayon bags for the foster kids though, and a chenille scarf that demonstrated a weaving technique I’d love to try.

At six o’clock we headed back to the Brookline Booksmith where Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, also known as The Yarn Harlot, would be reading from her new book, “The Amazing Thing about the Way It Goes: Stories of Tidiness, Self-Esteem and Other Things I Gave Up on” at seven. This is her eighth book, – You can find out about the other seven here. – but this is her first non-knitting, or, as she says, normal one.

Oh. My. It is every bit as good as any of her others. I laughed so hard, tears ran down my cheeks! And, although DH didn’t cry, he said his face hurt from smiling so hard for so long. lol.

You may enjoy reading some excerpts here.

Stephanie takes photos at each reading and posts them on her blog, Yarn Harlot. Maybe you can pick us out of the crowd!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Day Trippin’

  1. Eboo says:

    I am so jealous! I’ve wanted to meet the Yarn Harlot for awhile now. I love her writing and read her blog everyday. I hope she’s doing a bit of a Canadian book tour soon.

    • I’m going to make you feel even a little more jealous by telling you that this was my second time! In 2008 we made our initial pilgrimage to WEBS, America’s Yarn Store and then, together with like a zillion other knitters, we walked over to the Calvin Theatre where Stephanie spoke. It was somethin’!
      I hope she’s going to visit a city very near you.

      • Eboo says:

        Your second time??!! Gosh you’re lucky!! 😉
        Stephanie did come to my city once, and did a little talk, but that was before I discovered her blog through my renewed love with yarn and knitting. Just maybe she’ll come this way again. She doesn’t live too far away from me, so I could just always drive to the LYS that she goes to attend Weekly Knit Night. 🙂

      • I think to spend an evening just hanging out and knitting with Steph and friends would be quite the treat!

  2. Karen says:

    It could be you and DH sitting in the fourth row in the second photo, behind the lady with the white hair 🙂 !

  3. AnnB says:

    Thank you for sharing your trip to see the Yarn Harlot. I have seen her books on Amazon, but didn’t realize it was humorous takes on life. I am purchasing Knitting Rules to start.

    • You’re welcome. And thank You for reminding me about ‘Knitting Rules’. It’s high time that I enjoy rereading my copy. I borrow most books from the library but I thought ‘Knitting Rules’ belonged on my knitting reference shelf. It’s packed with lots of great knitting info and was published at the perfect time, just as I was learning how to knit. A little later, it and Ann Budd’s ‘Getting Started Knitting Socks’ taught me how to knit socks!

  4. AnnB says:

    I’m thinking perhaps Stephanie is a modern day Erma Bombeck with the knitting twist? I don’t remember Erma having any hobbies.

    • Hmmm, I don’t remember Erma ever mentioning a hobby either. A Google search brought me to ErmaMuseum.org where I found out that she and older her sister took tap dancing lessons though! (at the bottom of the museum page just click on another stage of of Erma’s life if you want to read more)

      For those of you not yet acquainted with Erma, Amazon’s ‘Look Inside’ feature lets you sample some of her many essays, HERE.

Leave a Reply

