Inspired by A Quilt

I bought this book of quilt patterns, ‘Colorwash Bargello Quilts’ by Beth Ann Williams, – $1.99 at Savers – because the quilt on its cover made me think of a crocheted ripple afghan.

556 BRG book

Inside I found far more complex Bargello* designs. Wow!!

I wondered if there was a way to duplicate the Bargello stair step effect in crochet.

Searching on-line I came across Laura Pavy’s free ‘Victorian Step Bargello’ crochet pattern. (scroll down) It explains how to use multiples of the pattern repeat to create anything from a scarf width up to a king-sized blanket using DK yarn with a 3.5 mm (E) hook. I was delighted to find a tutorial on YouTube. – Laura has also designed several other interesting Bargello patterns, all of which are in her ebook, ‘Not Your Nana’s Needlework, Bargello Crochet Row Designs’.

But I still was hoping to find a free Bargello crochet pattern, – One written for heavier weight yarns like I use in my ripples would be especially nice. – so I kept hunting. I was so happy when I found the Craft Yarn Council’s free ‘Cascade Crochet Afghan’ pattern! Yes! This style is more my speed. . . a bigger hook + bigger yarn = a more quickly finished charity project.

I couldn’t tell much from the pattern’s one photo, but Ravelry project close-ups reveal more details. Each Bargello ‘step’ is five posts wide – some ‘posts’ are dcs and some are made of chains. Reading through project notes I noticed that many people made two chain posts instead of the pattern’s three chain ones. Something to remember!

The Cascade Afghan begins with a chain of 295 and comes out 59″ wide. But my little ripples are usually only about 36″ wide. That’s 61% of 59″, (36 ÷ 59 = .61) so I know that I need a chain of at least 180 stitches. (295 x .61 = 180) Not knowing the exact number of stitches in one pattern repeat I’m going to begin with a chain of 200. I can always unravel the extras.

I can’t wait to get started!

* Bargello – a style of embroidery that dates back to the Middle Ages. Its name comes from the Bargello Palace in Florence and is sometimes known as ‘Florentine’.

This entry was posted in Afghan Patterns, Bargello Ripples, Ripple Afghans of 2013 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inspired by A Quilt

  1. Jana says:

    Looking forward to seeing your progress on this adventure. I have come across this pattern before and want to try it myself, but have to finish a couple others first. Thank you for sharing the links. I’m sure you will come up with another visual masterpiece to share with us!

Leave a Reply

