#33 – One Last Scrap Ripple

I made the fifth and last of this spring and summer’s scrap series out of the pastel scraps that were left when I finished the fourth one.

577 s5 pastels

plus black, grey and white scraps.

‘Reading’ from right to left you can pick out two different sets of repeating stripes. One set is the alternating one and two-row pastel stripes, which are in ‘rainbow’ order: blue/purple/pink/peach/yellow/green. Twice I threw in some aqua and second shades of purple and pink.

577 s5 close-up

The second set falls between the pastel stripes – single row neutrals, which go from black through two or three shades of grey to white.

I really had no idea whether this crazy scheme was going to come out looking good or not. Thankfully, it turned out just fine!

Scrappy Scrap   Sun Showers

577 s5 full view

Earlier a reader mentioned that the names I’ve given the ripples in this series seem to have a rain theme. Nothing ‘rainy’ comes to my mind when I look at this one. Does anything occur to you? I’d be happy to swap out ‘Scrappy Scrap’.

As a reminder, the names of the other four are ‘Dawn on a Rainy Day’, ‘Cheerful Blanket for a Rainy Day’‘Storm Clouds’ and ‘Spring Rain’.

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2014, Scrappy Ripples and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to #33 – One Last Scrap Ripple

  1. tiniree says:

    Linda, “Spring is Coming” was the first thing I thought of when I saw this. It’s just lovely, not your typical “Easter Egg pastel”, or “Baby blanket” colors with this sequence. Really like the dark color throughout.

  2. Jana says:

    I love your unintentional “rain” series, I think I may have mentioned it before lol. I have a couple name ideas for this one, as you say it is the last in the series: Sun-dappled (or kissed) Showers, The Sun’ll Come Out, After The Rain, or Sunshine Sprinkles.

  3. I was thinking it should be Rainbow Rain, but tiniree mentioned Easter, so Easter-Egg Rain popped into my head. Love the combo of colors & pattern! Great Job!!!

  4. Kathy says:

    I thought of a Rainbow when I saw it and I see that’s already been thought of! Pretty afghan!
    Kathy 🙂

  5. Bettina says:

    It’s absolutely gorgeous, Linda – you must be thrilled with the result. 🙂

  6. Verneta says:

    Beautiful blanket!!! My name suggestion is Midnight Rainbow.

Leave a Reply

