It’s Time to Burn Some Stash!

Cotton stash, that is. – I’m long overdue to use more of my worsted weight cottons.

Back in 2011, I crocheted a few cotton shopping bags. I soon realized that I really prefer  using fabric totes, so I donated these two to a charity raffle

4 stash bag wide135 Seaside Tote - sitting

and unraveled the third. – Hey, the yarn is blue. I love blue. –

#184 - 3rd Market Bag

Last year I wove two cotton dishtowels.

508 towel set #1

Two more towels are waiting to be hemmed and fabric for yet another two is in progress on the loom. They’re all very nice towels, but as slow as I weave, I’d never make it through the rest of my cotton worsted stash and who needs dozens of towels anyway!

So. . .  I decided to make washcloths.

You see, I read about a charity project sponsored by a local church. – They collect shoes, sandals and flip-flops for a mission in Haiti. What do shoes have to do with my cotton yarn? Well, when they fill a shipping barrel with shoes, they stuff the spaces in and around them with personal care items, mostly bars of soap and Washcloths!

At first I thought I would crochet them, – Crocheting is so Fast! – but then I found out that I could expect to get only one crocheted cloth out of a two-ounce ball of cotton yarn, leaving a substantial amount of scrap, – If there’s one thing I don’t need, it’s more scrap yarn! lol. – while if I knit the washcloths, I could probably get two from each ball! Although I spent very little money to build my cotton stash, I still want to squeeze every bit of goodness out of it that I can.

I headed to Ravelry to pick out a washcloth/dishcloth pattern, a free one, obviously. lol. The most popular, by far, is Grandmother’s Favorite (pattern) with over 10,000 projects, but it’s primarily garter stitch, which is sooooo boooooring, knit, knit, knit, knit, knit, row after row after row. IMHO, the only thing it’s got going for it is that it’s done on the diagonal. Next up is the Ballband Dishcloth (pattern) with over 9000. It looks best when knit with two coordinating colors. I want to start with something simpler than that, so I kept looking.

Eventually I settled on the Double Bump Dishcloth (pattern) even though there are “only” 2300 of them, compared to Grandmother’s 10,000. Still, I think this pattern has alot going for it:

  1. lovely texture, making it interesting both to look at and to knit
  2. a simple four-row pattern, which should be easy to remember
  3. reversible – looks Great from both sides
  4. lays flat even though it doesn’t have a border
  5. slip stitches enhance the look of variegated yarns of which I have quite a few!

For my first washcloth I’ve picked Sugar ‘n Cream ‘Landscape’ (circled) from among the oldest cottons in my stash, the eight balls shown in the middle of this donation of 2011.

583 yarn with bag 1

The Double Bump pattern was as easy as I’d hoped.

Ta-Dah!

Washcloth No. 1

0-CTTN-1

I love this little thing! It’s just big enough to do the job, at about 8″ square, and the pattern stitch creates a very smooshy feeling fabric. – I think I’m going to have to knit at least a couple of these for DH and myself. –

After, I discovered that I’d used more than half of the two-ounce ball –  groan – not leaving enough for a second cloth, so much for my ‘grand plan’. lol. But, wait, I happen to have a little scrap of lime ombre, part of this $4 thrift shop haul of cotton from last summer.

463 cotton yarns

Combined with the ‘Landscape’ I have left, there’s enough for another washclothl Yay!

Washcloth No. 2

0-CTTN-2

and it’s even a little bigger than the first one.

0-CTTN-1+2-2

This scrap stripe thing worked so well, I did the same with Peaches & Creme ‘Orange Sherbt’, also from the above donation. – I have no idea why they spelled sherbet with no e, but that’s how it is on the label and I have no idea where the scrap of solid peach yarn came from, either. –

Washcloths 3 & 4

0-CTTN-3+4

This is fun! Already I’ve used up two balls of cotton worsted

and finished four washcloths.

0-CTTN-1thru4

This entry was posted in Knitting, Washcloths and Towels and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to It’s Time to Burn Some Stash!

  1. AnnB says:

    I like the pattern you chose and the look of the cotton variegated. I may have to pick up my needles to try this for the knitting practice and a useful end result.

  2. threadbndr says:

    I’ve used that ‘double bump’ pattern. It’s a great washcloth. Because of the texture, it looks good in the solid cottons, too.

  3. These look so neat! Nice work!

    I admire how the church doesn’t let any space go to waste.

  4. AnnB says:

    I’ve picked up the needles to try my hand at knitting again. I’ve been working on the feathers and fans dish cloth pattern from the Peaches & Creme cone wrapper. It had no photo so I was knitting blind…but I’ve had some good practice at learning to see stitches and correcting errors…frogging out many rows a few times. It has a gentle zigzag pattern.
    Now I’m back to print out the double bump washcloth pattern. I checked the ‘boring’ pattern you mention in this post. Oh my! I remember that and quite frankly, it turned me off to knitting. If people could only knit ugly washcloths (or whatever it was supposed to be), why bother. One like that was in my parents’ belongings after they died. I gave it away.
    Well, that’s my opinion, even though the person who shared the pattern said everyone loved them. Maybe if they are in variegated colors and a set of them. One single, not even mint green was just, blah….

    • Is this ‘your’ Feather and Fan pattern? Like you said, no photo. How brave of you to tackle it anyway!! I think you’ll find the Double Bump quite easy after that, no incs or decs.

      I rather like the idea of knitting some ‘ripple’ facecloths – I like the deep texture and reversibility of the ‘Squishy Feather’, in particular. – if I should ever get bored with the Double Bump pattern, that is. I kind of like being able to knit them without thinking (production mode) – frees my mind to talk, listen to a book on cd or watch a movie.

      re: ugly washcloths – Do you feel as strongly about solid-colored garter stitch scarves? I can’t understand why they’re so often suggested as a good project for brand new knitters! At least knitting an ugly washcloth is over quickly. 😛

      • AnnB says:

        Yes, that is the pattern. I used one ball of Peaches n Creme variegated from a thrift store, price 29 cents. Too little to finish it with just one ball/small skein 2 ounces….the pattern came on a cone of 14 ounces. Will check the stash to see if it contains a solid to match one of the colors in that yarn…or just finish it the length it is and consider it a bar towel/extra large dishcloth.
        It was fun to create like a mystery pattern rather than seeing the photo of the finished product and then possibly telling myself it would be too hard. The pattern looked simple as directions, so….. After awhile I was able to leave off the stitch markers and could remember the pattern and see the pattern.
        Yes, still consider the plain garter stitch boring and ugly. I found some dishcloth patterns that use the garter stitch to create images with the stockinette stitch as the background. See this example I will make for the grandsons..of one of the many I found. http://frogiezplace.blogspot.com/2007/11/paw-dishcloth-pattern.html

      • 29 cent Peaches N’ Creme – Woo-Hoo!! 🙂

        Sounds like you learned alot through this project. Learning to ‘read your stitches’ is a huge step forward.

        Cute paw print.

Leave a Reply

