#48 – A Winter Rainbow

Today’s weather, although not cold, is terribly gloomy with not a glimpse of sun or blue sky. Luckily, I’ve created the perfect antidote!

607 close-up

I don’t know much about the yarns I chose for this week’s ripple. The yellow is Love Knit, luxury knitting yarn, ‘Lemon’ and I used up a couple of large scrap balls and a partial skein of off-white. The purple is chenille, so I bet it came from a thrift shop sweater.

I just bought the coral and turquoise at a little church sale where you pay one lump-sum for everything you picked out; so I estimate that I paid, at most, a couple of dollars for these very pretty colors.

607 tag sale yarns

The coral had been handknit into what I think was the front of a sweater. I was in such a hurry to get started on this blanket, DH unraveled it just as soon as it came out of the dryer! He may not crochet, but he does what he can to help make blankets for foster kids. – Thanks Sweetie! –

The turquoise, ‘Patons Jenny Cotton Style’, was discontinued a looong time ago. Surprisingly, it’s made of 97% Acrylic and 3% Nylon. Guess that’s why they called it Cotton Style. lol.

This fun color combo reminds me of a beach towel, so I’m calling this one. . .

Beach Brights

607 full view

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2014 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #48 – A Winter Rainbow

  1. AnnB says:

    Good name choice. A smile to the eyes. Also reminds me of a Skittles rainbow.

  2. Bettina says:

    LOVE it!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

