#1 – Legos

Happy New Year!

One way that I celebrate the beginning of a new year is by turning the alottastitches blanket count back to #1. If I’d let the meter roll continuously since I started this blog in December 2010, we would now be somewhere around #237, which is rather impressive as a grand total, but the only number that matters this week, next week, every week, is ONE, as in – I’ll make one more blanket that can go to a child entering foster care.

If you’ve ever thought about doing a charity project, but have simply never got around to starting, I challenge you to make and donate just One Item. It doesn’t matter if it’s One hat, One pair of booties, or One blanket. Just do ONE. *

And then. . . do One More.

Repeat from *.

Next thing you know, you could be making #237!! lol.

O.K. . . . off the soapbox.

This year’s #1 ripple began as a handknit acrylic scarf, which I found at a thrifty End of Winter Sale in 2013.

542 vrgtd scarf

I thought $2.00 for 12 ounces of yarn was a good deal, considering both that half is variegated and that DH did the unraveling for free!

546 rainbw and green

Unfortunately, the BIG ball of green ran out when I was this close to being finished!

621 LEGO ran out

Those smaller scrap balls were of no use, near-matches, every one. But then I remembered the ‘new’ skein of green I had just gotten at Sal’s! What were the chances that it would match?

And she Scores! YAY!

621 LEGO match

BTW – I also got a skein of RHSS ‘Pretty Petal’. The tags say $1.99, but, lucky me, everything with blue tags was half-off, so I paid only 99¢ each.

621 LEGO Sal's

My choice of color sequence, obviously, is green / blue / orange (I used two orange yarns.) / yellow.

621 LEGO close-up

Sandwiched one row of variegated between two 2-row stripes of a color, do one row of black, and then move on to the next color.

Legos

621 LEGO full

The yarns that had labels: RHSS ‘Yellow’, ‘Vibrant Orange’ (a discontinued color) and ‘Blue’, Panda Acrylic #134 (the deeper orange), SuperValue Dupont Acrylic ‘Royal’ and Meadowbrook Mirelle ‘Black’.

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2015 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #1 – Legos

  1. Bettina says:

    HNY!!! you’re off and running, I see. Great 1/2015 blankie 🙂

  2. Karen says:

    Some foster child will love it! It is so bright and cheerful, especially on a cold January day!

  3. BettyLou says:

    I just found your blog this morning and am so impressed with your Ripple blankets and would like to give one a try. My personal ministry is to make hats, scarves, and Prayer Shawls. My friends Jane and Joe take the hats and scarves to the shelter each month as needed and the Prayer Shawls go to my church. I find what you do and your commitment to the children very inspiring.
    Hugs, Betty Lou.
    americanvintagequilts.com and knottedthreadsandyarn.blogspot.com
    P.S. Silly me, I thought all ripple patterns were the same. I believe the only one I’ve made was from a kit back in the 70’s.

    • Thank you for commenting and Welcome to alottastitches!
      Kudos on your crochet ministry, Betty Lou – Big HUG!! I’m so happy that you have found local outlets for your projects; no shipping means more $$ for yarn. 🙂

      I checked out americanvintagequilts today and will make it over to knottedthreadsandyarn when I have more time to explore.

      Have fun picking out a ripple pattern; there are hundreds! My mom made a sc wool ripple from a 70’s kit. I remember it displayed, lovingly folded over the back of our avocado 70’s sofa.

Leave a Reply

