Ripple #6 – Inspired by. . .

this cute scarf.

628 SCRF adNot that I couldn’t have made a great-looking ripple anyway, but I thought it pretty cool that, in my stash, I found great matches for all five colors!

628 yarnWhen my newest ripple was ready for its photo shoot, I walked around our snow-covered yard looking for the best spot. There was too much shade next to the snow-blown path that heads round the east side of our house to the birdfeeders.

628 shadows

But it was fun to see all the cute birdie tracks where the trail starts to bend!

628 traxI asked DH. He said that he did not spill or sprinkle any sunflower seeds so far away from the feeders, so I suspect this is where the juncos come to picnic.

On the west side of the house there was plenty of sun, – As proof, that’s my shadow, at the bottom of the bottom of the photo. – but far too many Big Lumps of snow!

628 lumpy

Ah HA!! – Next to the driveway. . . the perfect place, both flat AND in full sun.

628 wide view

I knew that my usual perch of an old wooden desk chair wouldn’t get me high enough off the ground to shoot photos of a blanket atop twenty-four inches of snow.

No, for this job I needed a far more specialized piece of photographic equipment. lol

628 ladder

Yikes! – the powdery snow really clings to the backside of a ripple. Fortunately, the weather has remained cold and dry since the last snowfall, so one quick shake was all it took to remove it.

628 powder

I crocheted this blanket’s two-row stripes in the same order as those of the scarf.

628 close

The yarns I used: a purple chenille unraveled from a thrifty sweater, RHSS ‘Tea Leaf, plus the ‘Light Raspberry’ and ‘Turqua’ sent by Lisa of TN, and ‘White’ I Love This Yarn! from Chrissy of TX.

Thanks so much for your help, once again, kind Yarn Fairies!

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Ripple Afghans of 2015 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ripple #6 – Inspired by. . .

  1. Denise says:

    Gorgeous..One of my favorites so far!

  2. AnnB says:

    Those colors in ripples are even more cuddly than the scarf.

  3. Beautiful! I love those colors!

    Even more, I love the tour of your yard in winter! The bird tracks are adorable. We don’t get much snow here in Virginia, but I get homesick for the Michigan winters of my youth. Your pictures of the cold snow gave me warm fuzzies! Lol!

    • I’m very happy that you enjoyed my snowy little tour, Karen,
      but I hate to think of you sighing wistfully over those few snow pics for the rest of the winter. lol.

      Maybe you’d prefer getting a fresh snow fix whenever you want by visiting Michigan Snow Cams, a website that allows you to check out current weather conditions all ’round Northern Michigan!

  4. Bettina says:

    fabulous! Should I mention that it’s hot and sunny here in Sydney? 29 C / 84 F again 🙂

    • Thank you. 🙂

      At first I was going to say “84 sounds lovely, but I’m sure things will get a lot hotter there before your summer is over.”
      But then I thought that I’d better go check the facts. I was very surprised when wikipedia told me: “In the Sydney central business district, an average of 14.9 days a year have temperatures of more than 30 °C (86 °F) and 3.0 days with temperatures over 35 °C (95 °F)”

      Why, that’s about the same as summer here!!!

  5. Amy says:

    Love this!! Been awhile since I visited. Glad to see you again.

    Thanks for sharing the snow. Not seen any since moving from Ohio to Texas in 2009. Don’t miss the cold until we are like 105 degrees. LOL

Leave a Reply

