Hooping it up at Savers

In return for donating a bunch of stuff to Savers, I got a coupon for one 30%-off shopping spree. The night DH and I returned to shop, the store was quiet – nothing like during a half-off sale – with plenty of shopping carts, no jostling in the aisles and no waiting for a dressing room!

As always, I headed straight for the craft department where I quickly passed over the few lonely skeins of novelty yarn. But I could not ignore a very pretty lilac chenille.

635 XXXL chenille

The bigger the sweater, 58″ bust, the more yarn! I’m expecting to get about one-and-a-half pounds of chenille yarn – $3.50.

I also found a cute little quilted pinwale corduroy vest for myself – $2.80

635 new vest

and a coordinating scarf – $2.10.

635 new vest with scarf

What do you think? Is this type of scarf, loosely woven cotton with fine silver metallic threads, passé?

I like the colors so much, I really don’t care. A bonus, it also looks good with both sides of my old reversible down vest! (also from Savers)

635 old vest with scarf

DH was looking for short-sleeved summer shirts to wear to work.

Score!

635 dh's new shirt

Woolrich, New With Tags

635 new with tags

– Perhaps a Father’s Day gift gone wrong? – $5.60. On the Woolrich website, shirts with the same style # are close-out priced at $29.00, It’s painful to know there are people who paid that much, let alone the full retail of $45! ouch.

After thirty-some years, DH is so used to my crafty adventures, he hardly raised an eyebrow when I added my last find, a 27″ diameter Hula Hoop, to our cart.  – $1.40.

635 hula hoop

I don’t want to ruin the surprise by telling you my plans for it. All I’ll say for now is that the project will involve crochet.

This entry was posted in Thrifty Treasures and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hooping it up at Savers

  1. Karen says:

    What great finds! I think the scarf is lovely, and the colors go perfectly with your vests.

    I can’t wait to see what you will do with the hula hoop!

  2. Sharon says:

    WISH I HAD A SAVERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I think your scarf looks great with the vest. Scarves
    are in no matter what style they are, I think. I love the colors.
    Good for you!

    • In some areas of the US, and in Canada, they’re called Value Village. Whenever we travel, we check to see whether either kind is on our route – or could be, with a slight detour. lol.

      My scarf wardrobe shows how much I agree with you; some of my favorites have been around a long time!

  3. Oh, yay! A Savers trip! You know how I love to join you on thrifty finds. I love your vest and scarf, and hubby will look very snazzy in his new shirt, I’m sure.

    I have a guess about your hoop, but I will keep it to myself for now. *wink*

  4. AnnB says:

    Oh, my….. I made a search on Google for hula hoops today, looking at their potential for arts to try myself and with the grandsons. Can do smaller versions with them using embroidery hoops that I have in abundance (inherited from MIL), cardboard, string, nails, wood, etc.

    • Sounds like you had a good time collecting ideas! I’d love to hear about what you end up making with the boys.

      I’d like to play with some smaller hoops before I try tackling the hula hoop. Not sure if I have any extra embroidery hoops, but I’m sure that I can find something that will work.

Leave a Reply

