Ripple #11, From a Kit

Maybe you remember this “Ripple Kit” that I assembled when the box of yarn from Sandi of MD arrived last fall.

581 4 ripple kit

I played around, arranging and rearranging the skeins, trying to decide in what order to put the colors. Eventually I decided to omit everything but the variegated and green. This was fortunate because as I was about to put the rejected colors away I discovered that the royal blue is WOOL, not acrylic. Happy that I’d found this out before I’d crocheted it into a ripple, – phew! – I quickly enclosed it in a moth-proof Ziploc -justincase- and moved it over to my wooly charity stash.

Back to designing I added a second, darker shade of green – RHSS ‘Hunter Green’ – and some black.

636 TTT close-up

The very pretty variegated is RHSS ‘Kaleidoscope’.

Time to Take Down Those Christmas Lights, Don’t You Think?

636 TTT full view

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2015 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ripple #11, From a Kit

  1. Jana says:

    I love the effect of the variegated! It does look like Christmas lights.

    Yesterday I pulled RHSS Mexicana and Paddy Green to make my first kid size afghan for my nephew following your sizing and general pattern. I usually make afghans much bigger (adult size), but the kids get swallowed in them. Once his is done, I have to make one for each of his sisters, then I will be making a couple for our local Foster Closet. Thank you for continuing your quest and for inspiring others.

    • Ooh, the colors in Mexicana are bolder than in Kaleidoscope; I bet your afghan is very cheerful looking. Doing a kid sized one is fun, isn’t it? Before you know it, you’re done and preparing to start your next.

      Share photos, if you’d like; we’d love to see your little blankets. 🙂

Leave a Reply

