Ripple #24 of 2015. . .

features a Purl Essence variegated called ‘Sincerely Multi RedGoldNavyGrey’.

606 9 boy colors

It originally sold for $4.99, but last fall I found it on clearance for just 99¢ per five-ounce skein, the kind of price I’d expect at a thrift store, not JoAnns!

This yarn’s short 3-inch color segments created an interesting speckled effect.

665 DFF close-up

I used about 1 1/2 skeins, leaving me with enough to accent at least one more ripple. The other yarns are RHSS ‘Cherry Red’, anonymous tan and cream scrap balls and RHSS ‘Soft Navy’ from Ann of OK.

Regimental

665 DFF-full view

‘Regimental’ is not the word I was looking for, but will serve until I find a better one.

This color combination brings to my mind the ornamental trimmings that are sometimes found on navy blue dress military uniforms: gold epaulets that drip with heavy gold ropes, gold medals with multi-colored ribbons, a fine red border running down the front next to gold buttons, gold braid on lower sleeves, etc., etc. Is there a word for all that?

I came across the slang term ‘fruit salad’, but can’t see that as the name for this particular blanket. There must be a better-fitting word or phrase.

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2015, Thrifty Treasures and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ripple #24 of 2015. . .

  1. BettyLou says:

    How about Collegiate or Ivy League, that is what I thought even before I read your post. Very pretty, I think you must be crocheting in your sleep or you have a few of Cinderella’s little mice to help you. Your hook must fly!

    • Thank you. Happy to hear that you like it.

      Nice name suggestions. Somewhat reminiscent of “Preppy”, Ripple #53 of last year, but I’ll keep them in mind.

      With all the yarn my fairies provide I could certainly use some help but, sadly, no mice have volunteered. My hook continues to fly at about the same speed as usual. . . I average one of my little ripples and a few granny squares per week, plus I add a border onto a thrift store/tag sale blanket every once in a while.

Leave a Reply

