Production Report

Just because it’s been a looong time since I’ve written about the washcloths I knit for students in Haiti – last update was Dec. 4, 2014 – doesn’t mean I’ve stopped making them. It just means that I’m much better at creating piles of washcloths than I am at weaving in yarn ends and taking photos!  lol

Let’s start where I left off back in December, about to play with one of the last two colors of cotton yarn remaining from the mixed bag I was given a very long time ago. . .

610 pch:grn9

white/blue/green Sugar ‘n Cream Twists.

0-CTN blueT balls

I decided to try alternating two rows of it with two rows of green from this partial cone  that I found at Sal’s for $2.99.

0-SALS2-yarn2

I liked the results so much that I made six!

685- six grn & twist

I knit these four from a partial cone of a purple and olive combo that I also found at Sal’s.

685 four prpl/greenThere are several more of these to come. Fun to see how each washcloth looks a little different, but I can only handle doing a few at a time of this relatively murky color combination.

I also knit eight pink “tweedy” washcloths from a cotton sweater that I unraveled.

685- eight recycld pink

And I crocheted these two as samples for the ladies at Crochet Corner.

685 two crocheted

Turns out that my two crocheters, B and MP, aren’t the least bit interested in making washcloths or dishcloths.

Ta-Dah!! Twenty more washcloths, ready to go. . .

#24 – 43

685- all twenty

I thought these were all headed to schoolchildren in Haiti but then LA asked if I would like to put some into birthday gift bags for teen foster girls. Sure, why not?! I think I’ll pair the pink ones with vanilla-sweet orchid Yardley soap and the purple/green with lavender-scented – bought on sale at CVS with coupons for just 50¢ a bar. Yayy!!

DH and I are in the process of designing a wrap-around paper label for the washcloths based on this free printable that I found at Cobberson.com. – There’s also a crochet version. –

I’ll show you the gift packs as soon as we’ve finished!

This entry was posted in Knitting, Washcloths and Towels and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

