Looking for Options

I’ve been wondering what easy item, other than 5″ looper potholders, the Crochet Corner ladies might like to weave. Seeing these pretty little sachets, made with sock yarn on a pinloom, I thought I’d try using yarn and a potholder looms! Because of the distance between the pegs, aprox. 3/8″, I experimented with a double strand of worsted weight.

710-0-2strnd

While I think these soft drapey little squares could be made into a lovely blanket, like this, I also think that working with two strands of yarn would be frustrating for the ladies.* Briefly I considered bulky yarn, but I have a very limited choice of colors and, besides, bulky would create a much thicker fabric than that made with two strands worsted lying side by side.

Then I got another idea. . .

wandering around on-line, I came across this 3 min. video, Rugmaking101 Part 2, – as far as I know there is no Part 1 – which shows how to weave a small door mat out of tarn, t-shirt yarn, like I used when I knit both our bathmat and kitchen rug! At times the little girls’ hands move so quickly I can’t really see what they’re doing. Watching the video at half speed helps.

Reading through the comments people have left, I found out that the girls’ looms are 16″ x 24″ and have 30 nails on the short sides, 51 on the long. I noticed that there aren’t any nails in the corners and so figured out that they must be spaced about 1/2″ apart. That was enough info for DH & I to go. We’re going to turn a 16 1/2″ x 20 1/2″ wooden picture frame from Sal’s into a mat loom!

First DH reinforced the corners of the frame with angled pieces of thin wood.

710-1-corners

Then it was my turn. I marked where the nails will go,

710-2-marking

tapped on an awl to start the nail holes that DH would drill to a depth of 3/8″.

710-4-awl

Here I am lightly hammering in the nails, 1 1/2″ long brads. Notice that tiny 1″ tall block of wood with the hole drilled in the center, sitting on the rug? – Kindly ignore the fine sawdust that’s all over my dining room rug. Thank you. lol –

710-5-hammer

I slip the block over a set nail and then hammer the nail in until it’s even with the top of the block. Ta-dah!. . . all the nails magically come out one inch high. That clever DH!

710-6-block

Notice – I didn’t put nails in the corners.

710-3-closecrnr

My hands sure got dirty from the oily finish on the nails, but that’s a small price to pay for my very own frame loom!

710-7-messy

When I took the finished loom to Crochet Corner for Show and Tell I was suddenly struck by the idea to paint every other nail with some of the Rec. Dept.’s plentiful supply of nail polish. – get it nail polish! groan. –

701 2-nail-polish

I figure this will make loading the loom a little easier for the ladies.

710-8-pink

At some point during the trips to and from Crochet Corner I managed to bend a nail. – sigh – Not wanting that to happen again, I asked DH if he had a cardboard box out in the garage large enough to hold the loom. He proceeded to cut down a box, so it fits beautifully.

710-9-box

We added a one-inch wide grosgrain ribbon strap, making it easy to sling over my shoulder while at the same time I lug my Rubbermaid tub of Crochet Corner accoutrement.

710-10-strap

I imagine that the mats I get from this loom will work well as placemats/table mats, as hot pads for a cake pan or large casserole, or as sleeping mats for a small dog or cat. I’m going to find out using tarn I made from a few of DH’s boring old yard work t-shirts. Black, two greens and light grey, such an exciting color combination! lol

710-11-tarn

Thanks to Sal’s new lower prices, the ladies are going to have a much prettier palette of tarn to work with. These tees, all with advertisements of some kind, were 4/$1.00!!

0-MAT 12 16tees

DH immediately called dibs on the dark blue, one of the few size large shirts I bought. I usually go for XLs, if not XXs, because the bigger the shirt, the more tarn for my quarter but that particular one happened to have only a very small logo printed on it, so there would have been almost no waste! Well, at least DH was nice enough to give me a substitute tee. . .  yeah, a steel grey one. yawn.

710-13-steelgrey

P.S. More mat weaving videos that I found later: Door mats from the Philippines – A “zigzag” is obvious on the mat’s right edge. – and Doormat or Rag Weaving. Clearly they think these mats are a great money-maker requiring very little cash upfront, but I’m more curious to hear what they have to say about weaving instructions. Can any of you translate?

*It has since occurred to me that a frame loom with pegs spaced just 3/16″ apart (half of 3/8″) would probably work with a single strand of worsted. Maybe I’ll build one someday and find out.

This entry was posted in Weaving and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

