Go Ahead, Shoot Me!

I know you’re all anxious to see what kind of yarn was in that BIG Bag. . . but the Crochet Corner ladies and I became so giddy while looking through it, were so distracted by the gingerbread cookie baking and decorating that was taking place at the next table, and were so often interrupted by people stopped in because they noticed our yarn-covered table, – yeah, those are my best three excuses – that I completely forgot about taking photos until we had boxed it up and I noticed my unused camera still sitting on the top of a storage bin where I’d left it. sigh

731 shoot me

That’s right. We fit stuffed all the yarn into just FOUR acid-free boxes, which once held reams of paper, one each for (clockwise, starting upper left) Cotton, Mohair, Wool and Blends.

While looking on yarn labels for fiber content info, we also noticed where it was manufactured: France, England, Italy, Turkey, Holland, Germany, Norway, Brazil – that one surprised me -. . . and Vermont!

The perfumed scent that I mistook for Febreeze came from a few dryer sheets that were scattered among the clear plastic bags filled with yarn. I risked taking a sniff of a few assorted skeins and didn’t notice anything nasty. S copied me and was aghast to discover the all-natural scent of a particularly sheepy wool yarn! lol

I’ll spread out the contents of each box and take photographs the next time there’s an alignment of free-time and pleasant weather. Promise. Can, hopefully, catch up on ripple photos at the same time. Eventually, I’d like to find out just how many pounds of yarn we’ve inherited – Would’ve been so much easier to weigh it while still in the Big Black Bag! – and make a list of the brand names. I want to look them up in Ravelry.

This entry was posted in Crochet Corner, Yarn Stash and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Go Ahead, Shoot Me!

  1. Ann says:

    Oh my! And relatives wanted to just dump it. Thousands of dollars down the drain. Glad the niece saw the value and desires to spread the treasure around. Maybe she’s selling some to recoup her efforts, too.

    Before I realized the value of yarn and wool yarn at that, I sent a considerable amount to an elderly lady or two in our local town who knit or crocheted. My in-laws had died and no one wanted to deal with it. Not that much compared to my stash now, but if only I had it. Although my stash contains very little wool. It makes me itch.

    MILs wool yarn was only dry clean or hand wash. Her afghans felted in the wash. Gave one or two to former DIL and she ran them through the washer. Oh, well. Sent them off to Goodwill. Still have one or two that the cat chewed on. May finish felting it and then and cut it into fabric for bags, purses or totes, slippers, or a vest or cold weather jacket.

    • While going through the pile I sometimes paused to ponder what we could use a particular yarn for. There is a cotton/nylon boucle, if I remember the combination correctly, that’s quite unpleasant feeling, definitely not meant for scarf or cowl! Still I was shocked by S’s immediate response, “Throw it out! Throw it out!!” I told her that there was an appropriate project for every yarn and that part of the fun is figuring that out. 🙂

      If anymore wool yarn should come your way you could knit and felt yourself some warm slippers, fitted to wear over socks, of course. . . so your feet won’t itch!

      My MIL’s knitting was all wool too, a lifetime’s worth of argyle socks for FIL and matching bulky sweaters for FIL and all 4 boys, til they were about jr. high age.
      Which of your project ideas would be the best match for each of your MIL’s remaining afghans depends on their colors and scale of the pattern I think. How good is your imagination? “This blanket would look great as a ____________.”

Leave a Reply

