Two Firsts

Man, this blog is so behind! I last wrote about DH and I making potholder looms back on November 24th.

Remember that 12″ frame that I found up in our attic? – the one with the bathtub picture.

722-1-framebefore

Well, before we got it completely turned into a potholder loom I found a smaller wooden frame at Sal’s, 10 3/8″ made of narrow picture molding. – 99¢

We decided the “tub loom” could wait later until later. . . With a flat front and frame width to spare, DH thought he could easily add a thin wooden lip so it can be clamped to a table, which might make it possible for S to weave one-handed without someone having to holding her loom for her!

In the meantime, I was able to turn my “new” frame into a loom, all by myself. Just five easy steps stood between me and a larger potholder loom.

  1. Mark where the 96 one-inch long brads will go, 3/8″ apart with three spots left open at each corner, like the pegs on the plastic looms.
  2. Start nail holes with awl.
  3. Drill pilot holes.
  4. Tap in nails.
  5. Hammer nails in further using another of DH’s custom-made jigs that make it so easy for me to get every nail to be the same height. – Like the one he made for me to use when making the mat loom.

Ta-Dah!. . .

First Large Potholder Loom

741 smaller frame-after

Total cost – $3.00 ($1 for frame, $2 for 96 stainless steel nails) A Fantastic deal when compared with the $24 they want for that PRO loom I found on-line!!

Having already messed around with cutting t-shirt loopers to fit the little plastic potholder loom and the mat loom, I figured I needed loops about 8 1/2″ x 1 1/4″ to go with this one,  which measures 10″ between rows of nails. I cut a few loops from each of several different colored tees, including a couple that are tie-dyed. Fun!

741 in-prog

Ta-Dah!. . .

First Big Potholder

741 ta-dah!

I could hardly wait to show the Crochet Corner ladies!

Knowing how much they enjoy weaving with the little looms, despite having to deal with the exasperation of pre-stretching loops of most brands only to find that many are still too short or barely long enough to go across a loom – which leads to many loud siiiighs – I had the feeling that the combination of soft, generously sized t-shirt loopers and the resulting generously sized potholders was going to be a Big Hit.

And. . .  just think of the color possibilities! I figured if I checked every week Sal’s would supply me with a full rainbow’s spectrum of t-shirt fabric.

This entry was posted in looms, Weaving and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

