My Newest Project – #14 – Scrappy Trips Around the World

A fellow guild member gave me a bag, about a gallon’s worth?, of 2 1/2″ square scraps. Think of the variety of “new” fabric prints with which to play; think of the cutting time saved!

I’ve chosen Bonnie Hunter’s free Scrappy Trips pattern, essentially, 36-patch blocks, each constructed of matching squares laid in diagonal lines. Neat thing, I only need 1* to 6 squares of any particular fabric print.

My only rules. . . 1. Six matching near-white squares run corner to corner in each block, and 2. Each block must contain pink, purple or blue.

As I’m using individual squares instead of strip sets, I’ll probably be working on this one for a good long while.

NOTE: Same blocks, but different layout, make up Bonnie’s Incredible Scrappy Bargello.

* Every block provides two corner spots for one-of-a-kind squares. . . No patch shall be left behind!

P.S. There will be no Trippy photos until quilt is done. However. . . photos of quilts #7, 8 and 13 are coming soon.

Wishing Happy Holidays for Everyone!

 

This entry was posted in Quilts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment