2013 #13 – Lilacs

I owe an apology to the foster boys because I’ve made two pink/purple ripples in a row, but I promise to make it up to them by doing the next three in ‘boy colors’. O.K.?

424 - full view of Lilacs ripple

Looking at the remaining mix of pink and purple yarns that I could put with the ‘Plum Pudding’ variegated, I couldn’t help but notice that these, a deep dusky purple, bright pink, lavender and white, remind me most of the beautiful lilac bushes we’ll soon see blooming here in New England.

424 close-up

This entry was posted in Ripple Afghans of 2013, Ripple Series - Plum Pudding and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 2013 #13 – Lilacs

  1. Verneta says:

    I love it! The dark spots of the variegated give it great movement … almost like they are attached to the dark stripe. Yeah!

    • I noticed how the darks merged too.
      Seeing it in a photograph instead of on the blanket gives me a different perspective. Now I see vines traveling across the width and I can’t decide. . . are those flowers or fruit on the vine? lol.

  2. Beautiful! The variegated really does look like lilac stems! Lilacs are one of my most favorite flowers. I am enjoying your “purple phase”. Lovely thing for a yarn fairy to start you off on these!

    • Thank You! I was just wondering with another reader if it’s fruit or flowers attached to “the vine”, but of course, it’s lilacs on stems!! duh. 🙂

      Hang in there. Going to take a break, but there’s more purple to come.
      Yes, I appreciate my yarn fairies Very Much. – What fun I’m having with all this ‘Plum Pudding’!!

  3. Wazeau says:

    Love the effect of the variegated! Gorgeous afghan.

  4. I think the boys’ll have to wait. Because this one is a stunner! You have completely appealed to my inner little girl.

Leave a comment