Scrimple Ripple of the Week #15

I’m continuing to work out of the overflowing box of little balls of scrap yarn. A couple of weeks ago I shared how I came up with the Scrandom Ripple Plan. I thought you might like to read about the way I tackled this, my next scrap ripple.

It presented a slightly different challenge; I was starting with twenty-three balls of green scrap yarn! They weighed twenty-six ounces, just two ounces over the twenty-four I need for a child-sized blanket. To make things even more interesting, I added a little ball of fun fur to the pile. Having learned from my experience with fun fur while making Princess, I low-balled my estimate and assumed that I could only make four rows with it. This ripple would be accented by Four Fuzzy Fun Rows!

As before, I wanted to evenly distribute my many yarns throughout the blanket. I think I did it!

Coniferous Noodles*

12,098 stitches – 912,095 donated since Jan. 2011

It seems my mind takes a slightly different route with each scrap ripple. Here’s the way I approached this one:

I realized those four wild rows of fun fur could divide my blanket into five equal sections, like this  -I-I-I-I-  , with the I’s representing the four rows of fun fur, and the hyphens being the sections of all the other yarns mixed together.

What a great idea! This meant I only had to plan seventeen rows, instead of the eighty-four that I laid out using the Scrandom Plan!

84 rows (# of rows in an average child-sized ripple) ÷ 5 sections = 16.8 17 rows per section

Weigh the Yarns

I divided the scrap balls into piles of darks, mediums, lights, whites and teals                    and then weighed each pile:

Medium Greens . . . . 8 ounces                                                                                                               Light Greens  . . . . . . 6 ounces                                                                                                              Whites  . . . . . . . . . . . 6                                                                                                                            Dark Greens  . . . . . . 4                                                                                                                            Teals . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2

Total Weight             26 ounces of regular yarn

Figure Out How Many Rows of Each Color

I can crochet at least three ripple rows from an ounce of regular acrylic yarns, like Red Heart Super Saver, when I use a size H hook… so I multiplied the number of ounces in each color group by three to get the number of rows I would be able to crochet from that group. (example: mediums 8 oz. x 3 = 24 rows)

Then I divided each number of rows by five sections in the blanket.                                       (24 medium rows ÷ 5 = 4, with a remainder of 4)                                                                      None of the answers worked out evenly; each had a remainder, or leftovers.                            I would randomly add in those extra rows, here and there, as I crocheted my Scrimple. I knew they would help me use ever last bit of my scrap yarns!

Mediums 8 oz. x 3 = 24 rows ÷ 5 sections = 4 rows per section, + 4 addt’l rows       Lights       6 oz. . . . . . 18 rows . . . . . . . . . . . .  3 rows . . . . . . . . . . .+ 3 addt’l rows                  Whites      6 oz. . . . . . 18 rows . . . . . . . . . . . .  3 rows . . . . . . . . . . .+ 3 addt’l rows                 Darks        4 oz. . . . . . 12 rows . . . . . . . . . . . .  2 rows . . . . . . . . . . .+ 2 addt’l rows                 Teals          2 oz. . . . . . .6 rows. .  . . . . . . . . . .  1 row . . . . . . . . . . . .+ 1 addt’l row

82 Total Rows =  (65 rows = 5 sections x 13 rows per section)  + 13 addt’l rows + 4 fun fur

Make a Chart

I suppose I could have physically laid out balls of yarn as I planned each section’s color sequence, but instead, I made a little chart. Yes, I do like charts! With this one I was able to keep track of how many rows I’d made of each shade of green by making a check mark after I crocheted each row. I could easily see what color choices remained within the section I was working on:

Once I had filled a column with thirteen check marks, I knew that section was complete and it was time for one row of fun fur!

I arbitrarily chose to casually alternate one-row and two-row stripes. I put the colors in a different order within each of the blanket’s five sections.

Those four fluffy rows of fun fur may have confused you. Without them, this method would have been much simpler! Look at the number of rows I was going to crochet with each of the color groups, (24, 18, 12, and 6); they’re all divisible by six!

That means that, without the fun fur, I could have made Six groups of Thirteen rows each… and had no leftovers to deal with! Ah, did I just hear someone say my blanket would have been too short with only 78 rows? (6 x 13 = 78) Pish, Posh – Easily remedied by grabbing a new skein of yet another green yarn. Yes, it would have been shocking, I agree, but I would have included non-scrap yarn in a scrap ripple! lol.

However… I realize it’s very unusual to have numbers that can be evenly divided, so it’s just as well that I had to figure out how to deal with leftovers (remainders) on my first Scrimple.

I hope my explanation of the Scrimple Plan was clear. Although simpler, in some ways, than the Scrandom Plan, it still takes a few steps to complete. It’s not so much a pattern as an explanation of how I solved the puzzle poised by a particular set of yarns, in this case, twenty-three balls of green!!

* Now, about that name… what can I tell you? It’s what I got when I asked DH for help with a name for this blanket. I have no idea what it means; he just laughs every time he says it out loud!!

This entry was posted in Afghan Techniques and Patterns, Design Process, Ripple Afghans of 2012, Scrappy Ripples and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Scrimple Ripple of the Week #15

  1. Kathy says:

    Love the greens! One of my favorite colors…very pretty!…..Kathy

    (Coniferous Noodles…just a fancy thing hand models like to call pine needles….lol)

  2. I met a friend for breakfast and stitching today. She was sharing with me that her church had started giving prayer shawls, and she wanted to also do something for the men. She had decided that a laprobe might be a good idea, but she also doesn’t want to keep spending money to buy fresh yarn for each fresh project. I suggested your idea of the Scramble and Scrimple Ripple! I showed her some of your projects, and she was so excited about this new adventure! She said she hadn’t done ripples in years and hadn’t thought of that, but it would, indeed, allow her to use up all her scraps. I showed her your Scrandom Ripple Plan and explained how you use your yarn weights to make sure you have enough for your blanket. Thank you so much for sharing your process and your projects with us!

    Now, I really wish you’d write up YOUR pattern. While I think it’s super great that you started out with the Rustic Ripple and give credit, your ripple is much different than the original. I have the booklet that pattern appears in, but I would not be able to make your ripple just by using that pattern. I know this, because I tried! Now, that my friend explained a little more to me how to figure multiples of a peak/valley ripple I think I might, but Linda, this blanket is different enough from the Rustic Ripple to earn it’s own pattern. My 2 cents, but it’s your party so you get to choose the music. =)

    • What a fun time you must have had sharing ideas with your friend! 🙂
      Please let her know that I’m available for help – She can ask me any questions that she might have here or over in Ravelry.
      You’re very welcome, Karen. I’m so glad that my planning notes were useful to you.

      I’ll consider your thoughts about ‘my’ ripple pattern.

Leave a comment